Jaw drop.
written: 6:11 p.m. on Thursday, Oct. 02, 2008

Oh my god, Roger isn't playing Stockholm anymore.

Worse, he said, "At this point, I am not sure when I will be ready to play again, but I hope to be back at some point before the end of the year."

Does this mean he's skipping Basel, Madrid, Paris and Shanghai? Is he skipping the exhibition match too?

ARGH I WANNA CRY. I'M SO SAD. I was soooo looking forward to getting more Roger on my TV and obsessing over live scores and him adding points to his ATP ranking. Now that I don't even know when I'd next see him on TV, I feel like LIFE HAS NO MEANING.

Okay, I exaggerate, but I really am quite sad. The not knowing when he's playing again thing sounds really ominous and I hope he's just being extra careful about his health and that it's not another case of illness or injury or whatever.

Still, it's good that he's resting. When I read that he's playing Kooyong before the Australian Open next year, my first thought was, "Oh my god, why is Roger playing so many tournaments?" And yeah, even though I was really excited about following him through Stockholm, we must all bear in mind the larger picture: the longevity of his career. It's just one tournament; it may be a few more others, but they're nothing compared to what he's going to achieve in the next few years.

Having said all that, I'm still sad. And my download has died twice today - damn irritated. Sigh.

before sunrise // before sunset


Previously:
- - Tuesday, Aug. 29, 2017
I'm moving. - Sunday, Jul. 11, 2010
In all honesty - Tuesday, Jul. 06, 2010
What I want for my birthday... - Sunday, Jul. 04, 2010
On Roger's behalf. - Friday, Jul. 02, 2010