Long Live Taiwan
written: 8:40 p.m. on Friday, Oct. 10, 2008

It's my blog and I'll spam it if I want to.

Today is Taiwan's National Day.

We all know that I'm anti "One China". But what we didn't know - what I didn't know - is that I think Taiwan needs a new president. This editorial says it all.

Ma Yin-jeou is definitely a trade-up from Chen. The problem is, he focuses too much on the short-term practical issues of the economy and Taiwan's relations with China that in the process, he glosses over - intentionally or unintentionally (since he's a smart man, I'm guessing it's intentional) - very real and deeply important issues of Taiwan's long-term survival. It's irrefutable that the economy is an important thing to focus on, as is making sure that China doesn't attack Taiwan, preferably ever; but with all the focus on appeasing China, especially the lack of a military parade on Taiwan's National Day, one gets the feeling that Taiwan's very own president doesn't believe very much in the de facto country. And even if Taiwan has no formal status as a country, it is undeniably a nation.

I think I finally understand why Green, pro-independence Taiwanese would rather have Chen and the likes of him remain in office than to have Ma become president. All the slagging I read on Facebook finally makes sense. And it's sad - why does Taiwan have to choose between two extremes? I was hoping Ma would be able to straddle a middle ground and not compromise Taiwan's national identity, but now, I'm not so sure.

But hey, since it's Taiwan's National Day - long live Taiwan! China can kiss my ass.

before sunrise // before sunset


Previously:
- - Tuesday, Aug. 29, 2017
I'm moving. - Sunday, Jul. 11, 2010
In all honesty - Tuesday, Jul. 06, 2010
What I want for my birthday... - Sunday, Jul. 04, 2010
On Roger's behalf. - Friday, Jul. 02, 2010