Yelen def Backhand. Kind of.
written: 10:40 p.m. on Monday, Oct. 13, 2008

First, I just placed an order for this Nike US Open shirt and it came up to US$25.50. When Paypal converted it to Singapore dollars, I was really surprised that it only came up to S$39! Oh my god, how the US dollar has depreciated over the years.

Anyway, I thought I ordered it a long time ago actually but I checked my debit card bill today and it wasn't there. Which is great! 'Cause I got it on sale! Bwahahaha. Dark clouds, silver lining, etc.

I'm so zonked right now. I just came back from tennis after a really draining day in school in which I operated on auto-pilot and paid zero attention in both UN Law and Conflicts. Makes me wonder why I bothered going. I was wrestling with myself over whether or not to go to school, from 3 a.m. when I found myself unable to fall asleep, all the way until 7 a.m. when my dad came in to wake me up. I'm sure I wrestled with the decision while asleep too. It was awful in school - couldn't stay awake. I felt like I wasn't even there. Totally going through the motions. I came home and slept for an hour before having dinner and going for tennis. Like, I didn't even turn on my laptop. Can you believe it? How amazing.

On the tennis front, I was shocked to discover that my backhand is actually better than my forehand. Like, seriously - who does that? Players are told to hit to Roger Federer's backhand side because it's apparently his weaker side (though if that is his weaker side, then his tennis is absolute perfection. Which, well, it is) and a normal person should find the forehand easier than the backhand.

But no. My forehand is just indescribably indescribable. I honestly have no words. The coach was hitting to us two at a time, and after each shot I paused and shook my right hand because it kinda hurt, then he told me to stop and stand aside to wait for him to correct my like, swing, or whatever. I discovered, to my utter horror, that I was using my wrist! What the fuck, Yelen?! Watching all those tennis has helped 0%.

I attempted a very bad smash today though. The result was more a very badly-executed lob. My partner hit this super high ball to me, one that I could actually reach, so I did and probably flicked the wrist downwards because boy, did my hand hurt or what. That was quite stupid, I admit.

I was one step closer to understanding the genius of Roger's game today though. The coach did a very cursory and preliminary explanation of the different functions that single-handed backhand and a double-handed backhand serve, and throughout his explanation, I was all, "Oh my god, Roger is a genius!" Of course any professional tennis player worth his salt should be able to do both, but I've never seen Roger play double-handed backhand before. Ever. It's apparently more powerful than a single-handed backhand, but the variety of shots is significantly less. So logical conclusion? Roger does single-handed backhand to have greater control over his shots. I LOVE HIM SO MUCH.

The coach did a single-handed backhand slice whilst demonstrating the different shots that it could do, but I couldn't really see it. Then again, Roger's form is pretty much etched in my head.

In any case, it matters not; we were taught the double-handed backhand. Which suited me just fine. Most of my shots went over the net, like oh my god, and even more OMG, weren't out of bounds. No way, right? I think so too. And they didn't fly super high like half of my forehand shots do, so yay! Yelen 1, Tennis Ball 0.

But then, the difficulty lies in controlling where the stupid ball goes. Most of the time, the ball flew diagonally to the other side of the court, and I only managed to get it to go straight, like, once, when I was concentrating really hard. Otherwise, the point was to get it to go over the net and hopefully not out of bounds. Quite tragic, right?

And even worse - the coach asked me to take dancing classes to improve my coordination. What the fuckkkk. I'm so depressed.

Okay my dad's done. I'm going to shower. I can't even think about anything right now so whatever.

Lastly, Tris made me LOL so damn hard today, I can't even say. I can't even say. I have amazing friends.

before sunrise // before sunset


Previously:
- - Tuesday, Aug. 29, 2017
I'm moving. - Sunday, Jul. 11, 2010
In all honesty - Tuesday, Jul. 06, 2010
What I want for my birthday... - Sunday, Jul. 04, 2010
On Roger's behalf. - Friday, Jul. 02, 2010