More paper ramblings.
written: 3:52 p.m. on Thursday, Oct. 16, 2008

"If [forcible abduction of suspects and fugitives] is to ease the expediency of [police] operations, then it is suggested that police executives devise a more efficient way of arresting suspects according to the rules laid down by the law."

That's a nice, diplomatic way of saying "don't be fucking lazy."

Yes, I'm aware that my paper is going to be marked by Interpol law enforcement officers. But I cannot bring myself to say that police officers can run around kidnapping people, and here are the ways in which they can do it without being rebuked by the law. It is wrong, wrong, wrong, period, and I'm not going to write something I don't believe in. How is it possible that police authority can be further strengthened when it's already so damn powerful?

Also, I continue to be shocked speechless by the illiberal inclinations of the United States Supreme Court. United States v. Alvarez-Machain said that kidnapping is allowed. What the fuck? What's the point of wasting money negotiating extradition treaties if you're just going to go outside of the extradition procedures and kidnap people? At times like these, I've never been more grateful for the sensible presence of the British House of Lords. Seriously.

Actually, I think I'm missing something in the two cases (the US one and the House of Lords Bennett case), but...whatever.

I need to finish this stupid paper by 2 a.m. so that I can watch Federer v Tsonga. Yay!

Crap. My stupid table lamp is flickering. Great! Allow me to have a conducive environment in which to kill myself over this dumb paper, why don't you. Screw you, Table Lamp.

Shit, my lamp is really dying.

I need to get myself a proper dictionary and a thesaurus after this. My vocabulary is shrinking like nobody's business! It's terrifying.

Seriously, I'm exercising remarkable self-control and restraint by not blasting the United States for its shockingly brutal position on this issue. I just...I can't believe it. I just can't.

before sunrise // before sunset


Previously:
- - Tuesday, Aug. 29, 2017
I'm moving. - Sunday, Jul. 11, 2010
In all honesty - Tuesday, Jul. 06, 2010
What I want for my birthday... - Sunday, Jul. 04, 2010
On Roger's behalf. - Friday, Jul. 02, 2010