Federer def. del Potro 6-3, 6-3
written: 11:42 p.m. on Friday, Oct. 17, 2008

Yay!

It's sad that these young players serve double faults at crucial moments. The two breaks that Roger got before winning the match on Del Potro's serve were both due to Del Potro's double faults. Just yesterday Roger won the first set on Tsonga's double fault. Del Potro's serve also started unravelling as the match progressed, and it makes me wonder if it's them, or the fact that they're playing the Roger Federer.

Stepanek, shockingly, is the only player throughout Madrid not to be intimidated by Roger, and so far, defying my expectations, he was the only player to seriously make Roger work for his win. I still don't like Stepanek though.

Still, to Del Potro's credit, he hardly makes any errors. When they were engaged in long rallies, he forced Roger to hit the winner instead of letting Roger fall back on the hopes of his opponent making an error. This makes for great tennis for me as a viewer, because it's definitely more interesting and worthwhile to watch my favourite player hitting winners than to watch my favourite player winning the point because the other guy made an error.

I feel like Roger's stepping up his game with every match; he's definitely playing like he ought to be playing. Today was probably his best display in the tournament yet, and against an admittedly brilliant up-and-coming player. DP's only 20, would you believe? No wonder my brother kept raving about him and saying how he's gonna be World #1 someday.

Yeah, someday, just not when Roger's still playing, thanks.

I love Roger. And now I need to pee. I'll come write something substantial when I actually have something to say. For now, tennis rules my life and my heart. <3

before sunrise // before sunset


Previously:
- - Tuesday, Aug. 29, 2017
I'm moving. - Sunday, Jul. 11, 2010
In all honesty - Tuesday, Jul. 06, 2010
What I want for my birthday... - Sunday, Jul. 04, 2010
On Roger's behalf. - Friday, Jul. 02, 2010