SIMON DEF. NADAL 3-6, 7-5, 7-6
written: 1:42 a.m. on Sunday, Oct. 19, 2008

I was on the Roger forum, consoling myself reading the responses to his loss in the Federer vs. Murray thread, then decided to check out the Masters Madrid general thread to see if Nadal had won already.

I read: "Simon serves for the match."

WTF?!

The next post: "Got broken. Tie-break."

I had to watch. And boy, was I glad I did. I cheered even more loudly when Nadal lost then I had when Federer won his previous matches (but of course, not as loudly when Roger won his fifth straight US Open). Simon hit this amazing unreturnable to give himself a match point, then a long rally ensued which eventually ended when Nadal's shot was long. It wasn't even called out; Simon had to challenge. Nadal looked pissed while Simon was challenging, and I swear the review took forever to show whether it was out or not; but when it did, and the words "OUT" appeared on screen, I was all, "YES!!!!!!!!!!"

Oh I feel so much better now that Nadal's out too. HA HA HA! Of course, it'd be way better if Roger had stayed in, but hey, I'll take this, the second-best scenario.

This means it's totally Gilles Simon for the win tomorrow. Andy Murray, you can go away now, thanks. I wanted him to win to dispose of Nadal, but now that Nadal's gone, I want Simon to take revenge for Roger!

And speaking of Rog, I caught his post-match interview. He said that he felt great physically and mentally, that he was pleased with the way he played throughout the tournament, that Andy played brilliant and deserved to win. I'm glad it wasn't a case of him being physically down, but more a case of the better player winning. Of course, Roger is still the better player, period, but in the context of that match? Roger got outplayed.

Whatever it is, Simon for the fucking win, thanks.

Yay, watching the final tomorrow!

before sunrise // before sunset


Previously:
- - Tuesday, Aug. 29, 2017
I'm moving. - Sunday, Jul. 11, 2010
In all honesty - Tuesday, Jul. 06, 2010
What I want for my birthday... - Sunday, Jul. 04, 2010
On Roger's behalf. - Friday, Jul. 02, 2010