給我一首歌的時間
written: 8:01 p.m. on Sunday, Oct. 19, 2008

For some strange reason, this Jay Chou song that did nothing for me the first time I heard it has officially made me very, very emo. I've been playing it over and over for the past few minutes until now (when I'm too lazy to get up from my chair and press 'back' on my CD player). I don't know if it's me, my moodiness, or his genius as a song-writer; whatever it is, fuck, this song is damn sad. Damn sad.

給我一首歌的時間

雨淋濕了天空 
毀得很講究
你說你不懂 
爲何在這時牽手
我曬乾了沉默 
毀得很衝動
就算這是做錯
也只是怕錯過

在一起叫夢
分開了叫痛
是不是說
沒有做完的夢最痛
迷路的後果
我能承受
這最後的出口在愛過了才有

能不能給我一首歌的時間
緊緊的把那擁抱變成永遠
在我的懷裡妳不用害怕失眠
如果你想忘記我也能失意
能不能給我一首歌的時間
把故事聽到最後才說再見
你送我的眼淚讓它留在雨天
越過你劃的線我定了勇氣的終點

(There's a bridge but I don't really like it so I won't bother typing it out. Typing in Chinese is quite a bitch. Especially when looking for traditional Chinese characters.)

I admit, his weepy love song lyrics are a bit cheap. There's no depth to the emotions, just generic, readily-packaged phrases and words that are supposed to convey heartbreak and pathos. I know all this...and yet, it's affecting me. I'm so annoyed with Jay Chou. He needs to stop writing lyrics in such simple Chinese that even I can understand them. What the fuck. I don't even bother reading Vincent Fang's lyrics 'cause I can't recognise half the words anyway, so yeah, I blame Jay Chou for this.

Also, I just found out that the half-Taiwanese song (Track #8) is a duet, and that he didn't sing the Taiwanese lines. I FEEL SO CHEATED. Who the fuck is Gary? Why should I be interested in listening to his voice? I want to hear Jielun sing in Taiwanese, dammit, not some Gary dude whom I don't even know.

Time Machine sounds like a bastardised version of Bai Se Feng Che. But I have to admit, his songs are damn catchy. I started humming that 'le'-ridden song (...okay I can't remember what it's called) after two spins and I don't even like it. And I just discovered this awesome line in the Joker song: 別忘記 蝙蝠俠靠我才票房冠軍

I don't necessarily agree that The Dark Knight hit the #1 spot in the box office because of Heath Ledger's Joker, but you know what, it's a reference to the Dark Knight. I love the Dark Knight. It's a Jay Chou song. I'LL TAKE IT.

Well, anyway, I think I'm PMSing. That alone should explain the moodiness. I think the fact that Roger lost plays a tiny part too; by now I'm extremely adept at using such things as a means of distracting myself from things that I don't want to think about, that I should think about, and for a while I was in a happy bubble because Roger was winning his matches and I was happy that he was winning his matches, and now that he lost a match, that happy bubble has burst, and it hurts. More so than the sting of seeing him lose to Andy Murray; it's that, and much more.

Don't want to talk about it though. I wonder what do I talk about anymore. Oh well.

before sunrise // before sunset


Previously:
- - Tuesday, Aug. 29, 2017
I'm moving. - Sunday, Jul. 11, 2010
In all honesty - Tuesday, Jul. 06, 2010
What I want for my birthday... - Sunday, Jul. 04, 2010
On Roger's behalf. - Friday, Jul. 02, 2010