A bit down today.
written: 5:50 p.m. on Sunday, Oct. 19, 2008

I woke up this morning on the wrong side of the bed and haven't got back to the right side as of yet. Many factors played a part, but I'm only at liberty to talk about one: Roger Federer losing. It's crazy, but it was the first thing that I thought of when I woke up this morning after my dad turned off the air-conditioner. It almost felt like I was waking up from a nightmare...until it hit me that, yes, he really did lose the stupid match last night.

The bright side is, I got up, turned on the fan, and promptly went back to sleep, all the way until 2 p.m. Don't worry, I disgust myself too, so it was really to my detriment and punishment that during my second lap of sleep, I had the most convoluted and yet strangely fulfilling dream, though in the most inappropriate, unwanted way. I used to try to dissect my dreams with fervour, but now, I don't even want to read into them anymore. Just - no.

On the bright side, I finally got round to washing all my "hand wash only" clothes from months ago. The amount of accumulated fallen strands of hair I found on my clothes were quite disgusting.

On the bright side, Eurosport is indeed broadcasting Basel, so I'll get more Roger on my TV, which can only be a good thing.

Except...I'm so afraid of him losing that I'm not as excited as I would've been if it'd been him playing the final in Madrid today. Win or lose, I love watching him play tennis, but I'd rather he win, obviously. Still, it'll be sweet to watch him play in his hometown where ALL the fans will be on his side. The majority of the New York crowd favoured him but it won't be the same in Basel. It's Basel! Roger used to be a ball boy there (speaking of ball boys, have I mentioned my overwhelming desire to be a ball girl? Running around the court picking up loose balls, giving Roger his towel, taking his sweat-drenched towel from him...SIGH! If only dreams can come true) so it's gonna be quite something and I can't wait! And omg please don't go losing semi-final matches please, especially when he's defending champion!

Oh my god I just read that Nadal hasn't reached a final since he became #1. HAHAHAHAHAHA. Roger, on the other hand, won a grand slam immediately after dropping to #2. HAHAHAHAHAHA.

Okay, I need to stop doing this, or I'm gonna get my comeuppance. Karma's a bitch, right? I promise to stop ragging on Nadal if Lady Luck's good to Roger. Sounds like a fair deal to me. I'll be watching the final later and I hope Gilles Simon wins, though I'm betting Murray's gonna take it. If he continues playing the way he did against Roger, I can't see him losing. Oh well, I'll be quite fine with that; Murray's respect for Roger is undeniable. And I'm fine with that.

Anyway, enough tennis/Roger talk. On a completely unrelated but very important note, I'd like to extend my heartfelt thanks and gratitude and appreciation to Mel for her yummy and wonderful Post-Essay Trauma Recovery Care Package. Mel bakes the best chocolate cupcakes ever, and she knows it, and she knows that I love her chocolate cupcakes. I had them for dinner yesterday when I was way too full from lunch to have proper dinner, and I was very happy. Thanks, too, for her enduring and reliable friendship all these years, through the good and the bad and the tear-streaked days and the times when the laughter went on and on and on, and...yeah, I just love her very, very much, and her cupcakes too. Heh.

Crap, I just remembered that I have class tomorrow! I haven't read my UN Law! Bloody hell WTF. I just watched School for Scoundrels on Star Movies and it makes me wonder why perfectly good money continues to be wasted on such utter crap. Or why I wasted perfectly good time on such utter crap. I think I'm actually gonna go do some actual studying now. Bleah.

before sunrise // before sunset


Previously:
- - Tuesday, Aug. 29, 2017
I'm moving. - Sunday, Jul. 11, 2010
In all honesty - Tuesday, Jul. 06, 2010
What I want for my birthday... - Sunday, Jul. 04, 2010
On Roger's behalf. - Friday, Jul. 02, 2010