I hate ESPN2 and their annoying commentators.
written: 2:38 a.m. on Tuesday, Oct. 21, 2008

Man, I need to sleep. I'm so tired.

I just watched Shanghai TMC 2007 final and I'd like to say one thing (first):

I FUCKING HATE AMERICAN COMMENTATORS. They just can't freaking stop talking. I really appreciated the Madrid coverage because the commentators - and there were two - only talked when there was something to say, and didn't talk just to fill up the silence. When the players are engaged in a rally, I really don't want to hear some stupid story about the players' personal lives, or even their year-long achievements. I'd love to hear about Roger's wins - during the break, please. Don't yak at me when I'm on the edge on my seat, unable to breathe until the rally ends, because all these extraneous information is super distracting, as is the non-stop talking. Why can't they just shut up for maybe three seconds? Why?

I can't stand ESPN's coverages either; the marquee scrolling past the screen at the bottom is so distracting, and they like to cut to really stupid things like some magazine article about Roger in between games. I mean, yeah, it was really nice seeing Roger in print, but I hate it when the broadcast does these kinda crap 'cause it takes me out of the match and it annoys the shit out of me. I'm extremely anal about watching an entire match in its entirety in one sitting, not because I'm anal for no reason, but because I like to enjoy it as if I'm really there, i.e. without stupid distractions like some magazine article and other useless stuff I can't remember. And I also really hate it when the players are done taking a break and are walking back to the court and the broadcast takes that chance to tell me about some bloody college basketball crap that I don't care about, then they cut back to the freaking LIVE TENNIS just in time to see Federer hit the ball across the court. Thanks for showing me his serve from the very first second, when he bounces the ball a few times before actually serving. Maybe I actually want to see the whole thing - the execution and the result, and not just the result.

Stupid ESPN. Tennis is shown on ESPN2 but I don't think there's a difference. Stupid American commentators. A worse experience was one of the matches during the US Open when one commentator yakked endlessly about his co-commentator and even presented some gift to him in the middle of the match, when they players were actually playing. I mean, sure it was sweet that the guy wanted to honour his senior colleague, but could he possibly have chosen a less inopportune time to do so? I actually listen to the commentary for a professional take on the tennis that I'm watching, not some extraneous business going on with the commentators that I don't freaking care about.

To think I was complaining about the Madrid commentators commenting on the audience and not the players. I'd take that over the Americans anytime, anyday; at least the Europeans/Australians/non-Americans don't ramble on and on and on about nothing.

Right, rant over. On to happier things.

David Ferrer is so hot. He did what he could, but...well, it was Roger Federer. The commentators were going on and on about how Ferrer imposed himself on the likes of Nadal, Roddick and Djokovic, which yeah, was great for him, but for fuck's sake, Nadal, Roddick and Djokovic are not, and will never be, Federer. All three of them combined is not, and will never be, Federer. The really irritating part was how they kept going on and on about how Ferrer beat the three of them which just pissed me off. Once or twice, yes, but over and over? Please come up with some new freaking material.

Anyway, Roger played extraterrestrial tennis against Ferrer. It was amazing. Crazy cross-court winners with crazy angles, amazing volleys executed with and to perfection, and the way he chased down every single shot, even those that seemed impossible, was just mind-blowing. I love his fighting spirit and the way he never gives up. That's what makes him so compelling a tennis player to watch. I also absolutely love the aggressive way he hits closer and closer to the net, and sometimes takes the ball mid-air, before it even lands, with a powerful forehand that lands the ball just at the 90 degrees angle between the baseline and the singles sideline. FUCKING BEAUTIFUL, I swear.

In a way, I'm not surprised I'm taking very well to tennis (in terms of watching, that is). Federer's elegance notwithstanding, it's one of the few artistic-looking competitive sports that isn't named artistic gymnastics, or isn't gymnastics. It's aethestically-pleasing if done properly, and when someone like Federer is playing, sometimes I get the sense that I'm watching some dance performance, not tennis. Tennis is inherently an elegant sport; adding Federer to the mix elevates it to an art form. I know I keep gushing about it but seriously, watching him play takes my breath away. His tennis is poetry in motion.

Now for the superficial: OMG his red shirt was drenched in front and at the back and it was probably before Nike gave him dri-fit shirts and the sweat patches were quite obvious, and OMGGGG Perspiring Roger is so, so hot. He also has the prettiest hair on a man, ever. And that boyish smile - sigh! I'm in deep love.

Lastly, oh fuck, Stan Wawrinka's on his way to losing his first Basel match. Third set tie-break, 4-5 Wawrinka. WHAAA! He had a match point earlier on but unfortunately didn't convert. I was hoping to see him play against Roger in Basel, but I guess it's not to be, if he loses this one.

OMG, wait, 5-5!

Crap, the other guy has a match point. On Wawrinka's serve though. Save it Stan! Don't let the German (I think. Or maybe not) win on your serve in your country!!

Oh fuck, he lost. ARGH what the fuck. 6-3 6-7 6-7?!?!?!?! Sigh. He's so inconsistent, sometimes I wonder how he got to the top ten. I don't even know who he lost to in Madrid...but then, to be fair, I only know who he is because he played doubles with Roger in Beijing.

Oh well!

Okay I'm going to sleep.

***

ETA at 3.19 a.m.: YESSSSS ROGER'S PLAYING HIS FIRST BASEL MATCH AT 12.45 A.M. SINGAPORE TIME!! I CAN WATCH!!!!

before sunrise // before sunset


Previously:
- - Tuesday, Aug. 29, 2017
I'm moving. - Sunday, Jul. 11, 2010
In all honesty - Tuesday, Jul. 06, 2010
What I want for my birthday... - Sunday, Jul. 04, 2010
On Roger's behalf. - Friday, Jul. 02, 2010