Annihilation by Crappy Forehand.
written: 3:31 p.m. on Saturday, Oct. 25, 2008

I woke up at 8.30 this morning to go all the way to Woodlands to play tennis with a few people from my tennis class. I am so unbelievably tired right now, I can't do anything. Even typing requires too much energy. After 15 minutes I was already about half-dead, and we went on for two hours. Of course I took breaks (many, many breaks) in between, but still. I'm so tired. So tired.

I wouldn't be surprised at all if I woke up tomorrow with an aching right hand. My forehand refuses to work and I don't know why and it's so frustrating. I suspect I'm playing with my wrist, which is really bad 'cause I need my hand to write! Whenever I try to whack the ball I feel like my racquet's pulling my arm down, and sometimes I even notice that I'm flexing the wrist. Sigh. I totally need personalised one-on-one coaching; it's been so long already and my forehand still sucks to high heavens. It's one thing if I can get the ball across the net, but I can't even do that. When I'm returning the ball just flies all over the place and I have no idea what the fuck I'm doing.

Argh OMG I want Roger Federer to teach me tennis! He has the most beautiful and powerful and dangerous forehand, like, ever. Even watching him warm-up before a match is a joy to behold: his form is absolute perfection. Swinging your playing arm across your body and all the way up to your shoulder when hitting a forehand is pretty basic, but for some reason, the way he does it looks so much better than anyone else. And of course, he makes it look so damn easy when in fact, it's anything but.

Fuck man, tennis is the hardest sport ever. EVER. The mere fact that you're not supposed to play with your wrist already makes it really tough because I find it instinctive to do so. And seriously, I was examining a volley that Roger executed in one of his Basel matches and I noticed that he doesn't even move his wrist when he volleys. He gets his racquet under the ball and lightly turns his racquet, enough to get the ball over the net, and only his arm moves. How does he do that? How does anyone? I can't seem to move my arm without also moving my wrist which really sucks.

On the bright side, I actually serve pretty well when I'm not throwing the ball too high or too ahead or too far back. I got at least half my serves in from the baseline, which is like, totally awesome...though for some reason, I can't serve to my right side.

The backhand is also still in okay-decent-ish shape but then, I don't really whack a lot on the backhand. Half the time the ball flies to my forehand side and I'm scampering around trying to hit one good forehand shot but of course it never works. Still, I hit ONE really good backhand shot today so yay!

Honestly though, I think I did a lot more running around chasing down balls and trying to hit it than any actual, serious hitting. How sad! This is why I wanna hire Roger as my personal coach; he'd make sure I get it right, and since he's the God of All Tennis, he'd know how to make sure I get it right.

I was going to write something suggestive about what he and I would do after coaching, but...it just felt icky. Haha. I don't really lust after Roger, I realised. Yeah I think he's the most beautiful man I've ever laid eyes on, and sure I think he's hot when he's not wearing a shirt (yes, even with the quasi-pregnancy), and I definitely admire greatly his looks when he's not playing a match. But I can't imagine making out with him. And I think this has largely, if not wholly, got to do with the fact that he's who he is: fiercely loyal, extremely monogamous, and just not the kind of guy to sleep around or fool around.

Sigh, he's the perfect specimen of a man. Not only is he drop-dead gorgeous, he's down-to-earth and unassuming and loyal, and he's got a wicked sense of humour. He was asked about how he felt about his favourite football team, FC Basel, losing 0-5 to FC Barcelona, and he was said something about how he had the team's football shirt on underneath his normal clothes and how he was ready to go out there and help his team if the coach asked him, but sadly the coach didn't enlist his help. He's so lame. And apparently he carries a ladybug Tweety in his super disgustingly metro sports bag because the Tweety was a gift from Mirka and he carries it around for luck. ARGH he's so sweet I can't stand it! Mirka is a lucky, lucky woman.

He's just not real. How can Roger Federer be real? He's probably one of the five good men that still remain in this world. Sigh! Some of us are just so. damn. lucky.

***

I don't think I can watch the semi-final tonight because it's not listed on the Eurosport schedule. Oh fuck fuck FUCK! Federer v. Lopez? Gorgeous v. Gorgeous? I really want to watch! Damn Eurosport. DAMN EUROSPORT. Worst channel ever.

before sunrise // before sunset


Previously:
- - Tuesday, Aug. 29, 2017
I'm moving. - Sunday, Jul. 11, 2010
In all honesty - Tuesday, Jul. 06, 2010
What I want for my birthday... - Sunday, Jul. 04, 2010
On Roger's behalf. - Friday, Jul. 02, 2010