Federer def. Nalbandian 6-3, 6-4 to score title hat-trick in Basel
written: 3:23 p.m. on Monday, Oct. 27, 2008



Damn Eurosport didn't show the trophy presentation and the requisite post-match interviews with the two finalists. Have I mentioned I hate Eurosport? Please don't cover anymore ATP events and stick to the WTA, thanks.

Anyway, Roger played a magnificent match, definitely the best of the Basel tournament. Nalbandian actually seemed to struggle a bit and didn't quite find his groove; I expected him to be much more of a threat to Roger than he actually was. But then, when Roger decides to turn it on, no one can ever hope to outplay him.

Nalbandian had zero break chances. Roger only dropped 7 points on his serve. And match point was simply magnificent - brilliant, brilliant forehand winner fired from mid-court, down to Nalbandian's backhand side. He should win every match like this, but that's not humanly possible, so I'm glad he clinched it with his own winner here instead of relying on Nalbandian's return to find the net.

Not to mention - oh my god, his backhand winners. Oh my god, seriously. Nalbandian forced him to the far right of the court, and Roger looked like he randomly whacked his backhand and the ball landed right on Nalbandian's backhand side singles sideline. Absolutely magnificent, "and that's putting it mildly" (quoting the commentator who was totally in love with Rog). I've certainly seen why his backhand is considered his weaker side, but when it works, it's absolutely breath-taking.

I think he really does conserve his energy for the tougher opponents like Nalbandian and doesn't quite bother playing as hard in the earlier rounds of a tournament. In Madrid, he turned it on for Tsonga whom he'd never met but was making waves in the ATP tour with his win in Bangkok, and then for Del Potro who's really, really good, but not for Stepanek whom he's met before and is probably about ready to retire. He also played well against Murray but unfortunately had trouble getting his first serves in which then prevented him from scoring cheap points which then caused him to lose serve which then caused him to lose. In Basel he played like shit in the first couple of rounds until the semi-final and only played his minimum best tennis in the final. I've learnt my lesson: I won't bother freaking out anymore when Roger plays like shit in the early rounds of a tournament; it's just what he does, and he knows what he's doing. And it works for him.

2009 is going to a good year for him, I think. I kinda hope he doesn't play the Paris tournament this week so that he can conserve energy for Shanghai where he has a title to defend. I think he lost in the third round of Paris last year or something so it doesn't really matter much. In any case, the tournament starts today but he still hasn't confirmed his attendance! Like what the hell. I hope he doesn't play 'cause I wanna see him win in Shanghai. His final there last year was, like I said, extraterrestrial tennis.

To wrap up, this is my favourite picture from the Basel tournament, and one of my favourite Roger-in-action pictures ever:



Absolutely too beautiful for words.

*

On another but related note, if the Eurosport British commentator was right, "Basel" is pronounced "Bahl" and not "Bah-sel" like I thought it was. I never knew!

before sunrise // before sunset


Previously:
- - Tuesday, Aug. 29, 2017
I'm moving. - Sunday, Jul. 11, 2010
In all honesty - Tuesday, Jul. 06, 2010
What I want for my birthday... - Sunday, Jul. 04, 2010
On Roger's behalf. - Friday, Jul. 02, 2010