Driving is tiring, and so is school.
written: 6:11 p.m. on Thursday, Oct. 30, 2008

I went to town today with the original intention of doing some long-needed shopping which soon changed when the magnitude of the consequences of my slacking off the entire semester finally sank in, so I zipped to town really quickly to renew my La Senza membership (which would've expired tomorrow!) and to finally buy myself a dictionary and a thesaurus. I can't write my papers without either, so it was absolutely imperative that I bought them today. I also need my La Senza membership for obvious reasons...though, on second thought, I don't buy lingerie often. But I guess that would soon change!

Anyway, so I went to Kino and I walked past the Sports shelf on my way to the dictionaries shelf. I casually glanced at it, then saw a biography on Pete Sampras staring back at me. In the moment I knew that I really wanted to buy the Federer biography that I passed up the last time I was at Kino because I was trying to be prudent...

But quite clearly, prudence and me don't mix well. In fact, we don't mix at all. After some difficulty in hunting down the book (there were TWO copies left and I was a bit blind and didn't see them), I decided that I was fated to buy it purely because I almost missed them. The fact that I found them eventually and grabbed one of the two remaining copies totally meant that it was meant to be.

Fine, so that made absolutely no sense whatsoever. Whatever. I'm just really happy I bought my Federer book! And I promise I will read it. It's a bit scarce on the pictures side but then again, the Internet is an infinite source of Federer pictures so I'm not complaining. The only downside is that it's translated from German which I found out after ripping it open 15 minutes ago and I don't typically read translations. But hey, it's a Federer biography, not some great literary work, so I don't really mind too much.

I almost wanted to buy the winner of the 2008 Man Booker, but I read a couple of pages and didn't feel the "OMG I MUST BUY THIS BOOK" urge so I deferred it to another day. I think I might pick it up one of these days. I'm always damn curious to know what it is about Asian novels that people in the West get all hot and bothered over. And a lot of these literary prize winners seem to be Indians. Hmm. Maybe I should've been born Indian. Damn.

Anyway, I drove to Kent Ridge after I was done in town to pick up a book I had on hold. Ulu Pandan, I must say, is a freaking damn long road. I swear I was so tired from the freaking driving that I wanted to die. I purposely lingered around in Central Library a bit because I didn't feel like driving home.

This soooo means that I need a boyfriend with a licence and access to a car, preferably now, thanks. Ugh. Driving saps me of way too much energy.

On another note, oh my god, Conflicts is really the worst module I've ever decided to sic on myself. It's worse than Personal Property and Evidence combined. It's so arithmetic that half the time my poor right-centric brain cannot comprehend shit. I know I bitched about the 2,500 word limit for the assignment, but now I'm so glad it's only 2,500 words. I'm even sad that it doesn't include footnotes. ARGH! I'm gonna die.

Gonna die. Have I mentioned die? DIE.

Oh yeah there was something else I wanted to say. My mom asked me to park at Tangs to avoid the ERP gantry, so I did. And to my absolute horror, I didn't find a parking lot until I got to the freaking fifth storey. By that time I was already dying from leaning forward to see where I was going and from constantly shifting my foot from the brake to the gas pedal. It didn't help that the only free lot was directly in front of the ramp to the next floor because it made parking difficult, but of course I did it.

When I was getting my stuff I couldn't help but think of what a great treat I had in store for me when I left the carpark. And indeed, it was the greatest treat ever. The way down to the ground floor from the second deck of the fifth storey felt like it would never end. And it was this spiral downwards and I had to hold the steering wheel in one position and press on the brake to prevent the car from getting out of control and it was sooooo tiring. Every time I thought it was over, there was another round to go. I almost died.

The only good thing was that the ramp was very wide so I didn't completely freak. If it'd been narrower, I swear I would have cried. And died. And begged some cute guy to drive my car down for me.

Then again - no. I'm not that useless. I'd cry and freak out but I'd get myself out of there eventually. Whether or not any damage would be done to the car...well. Hopefully not, yeah?

before sunrise // before sunset


Previously:
- - Tuesday, Aug. 29, 2017
I'm moving. - Sunday, Jul. 11, 2010
In all honesty - Tuesday, Jul. 06, 2010
What I want for my birthday... - Sunday, Jul. 04, 2010
On Roger's behalf. - Friday, Jul. 02, 2010