(Tennis Masters Cup 2008) Murray def. Federer 4-6, 7-6(3), 7-5
written: 11:35 p.m. on Friday, Nov. 14, 2008

Roger's out of the Masters Cup before reaching the semi-final for the first time in six years and I am not upset at all.

He played magnificent tennis. The first set was perfection. He unravelled in the second, and when he was down 2-5 and Murray was serving for the set, I was too depressed to keep watching so I went to take a shower, expecting to come out just in time for the middle of the third set after my shower.

But guess what I found out? Roger broke Murray to even the set. I am still kicking myself for missing those games. My brother said they were brilliant. But sadly, he lost the tie-break 3-7.

Even better - he called a medical time-out at the start of the third set because his back was acting up. As soon as I found out (was doing my paper at the same time and didn't watch the first couple of games), I knew that it'd really, really take a miracle for him to win. So I abandoned my R2P editing process and went out to watch, thinking that it'd end quickly since his back was acting up, and according to the commentator, he was "practically crippled." He was down 0-3. During the break between games I saw him lying face-down on the ground by the sidelines while his trainer worked on his back - twice. I thought the match would end any minute now...but no.

It ended about 45 minutes later. Murray had seven match points on Roger's serve at 4-5. That service game stretched into a whopping 11 deuces, with Roger holding in the end. Unfortunately, he couldn't do the same when he was serving to push the match into a tie-break, and Murray won...well, I don't even remember how.

I remember, though, the thrilling tennis that Roger produced. A "crippled" back, a messed up serve - and he ended the match with 6-7, 5-7. He could've taken it anytime. I expected maybe a 2-6 third set, but he fought tooth and nail to the very end and ended it in style.

He is, quite honestly, utterly amazing. Commentators were wondering if he'd retire, and I knew he wouldn't, because "Roger Federer doesn't retire." He is a fighter to the very end, and when staring in the face of defeat, he spits at it. He is amazing, amazing, amazing. If I thought I loved him before this, then I don't even know what to call my overflowing flood of emotions I have for him right now.

I am so, so, SO damn proud of him. This is the best match of the season since I started following tennis. It would've been much sweeter if he'd won, but this match showcased why he's already been touted as one of tennis' all-time greats, if not the greatest player ever. It proves why he held the #1 spot for 237 straight weeks, why he's the holder of 13 grand slam titles, and why, simply, he's Roger Federer. He is a fighter, he is a warrior, and his courage, his heart - it's inspiring and moving. It's the stuff that inspirational stories are made of, and if I had it my way, I'd write a victory for him.

But no matter. In my heart, and in the eyes of his 38532515459134931437345 fans in the world, he's the true winner of the match. By just stepping onto the court with all his health issues, he's already won. And playing with such determination and fire? I am so glad that the most beautiful man in the world also happens to be such a great tennis player, in every sense of the word.

***

Some gushing:

ROGER'S DROP SHOT WINNERS WERE AMAZING. I especially loved this particular drop shot where he feigned a forehand (I swear, HE FEIGNED A FOREHAND) and made Murray scramble to the other end, just to hit a beautifully-executed drop shot with such nonchalance that it looked like he fell asleep. Absolutely amazing.

That forehand winner when he broke Murray in the third set was AMAZING AMAZING AMAZING. That was when I thought he might actually win, but too bad he got broken back (hahaha pun) immediately.

Those 11 deuces in his penultimate service game? Oh my god. I thought Murray would take it any minute. 7 whopping match points. You don't argue with 7 match points. And unlike Djokovic's losing match points on his serve in the 2007 US Open final, here, Roger worked to save them all. It's amazing he still managed a few aces with his wonky back - but he did.

This is just the best match ever. Ever. Murray should be very, very afraid - he still had to work for the win while playing against a Federer with a crippled back and a messed up serve. Such innate talent cannot be worked for; you either have it or you don't. And Roger has it in abundance.

As for the rest of the tournament:

Murray v. Davydenko: Davydenko win, please.

Djokovic v. Simon: Djokovic win, please.

If it comes down to Murray v. Djokovic in the final: NOVAK DJOKOVIC FOR THE WIN!!!!!!!

But if I'm being really honest, I think Murray's going to win the tournament. DAMMIT.

On a shallow note, I really think Gilles Simon is damn damn DAMN pretty and I want to be his girlfriend. Too bad, though, that the more I watch him play, the more I think he's a right-handed Nadal: another boring baseliner. He doesn't deserve a semi-final spot. Too bad Roger lost to him.

Too bad, in fact, Roger's not at 100% health-wise. But - in 2009, The King Will Rise Again. Bwahahahaha.

before sunrise // before sunset


Previously:
- - Tuesday, Aug. 29, 2017
I'm moving. - Sunday, Jul. 11, 2010
In all honesty - Tuesday, Jul. 06, 2010
What I want for my birthday... - Sunday, Jul. 04, 2010
On Roger's behalf. - Friday, Jul. 02, 2010