Federer + studying sucks + Grey's Anatomy
written: 4:25 p.m. on Saturday, Nov. 15, 2008

A. Federer Ramblings

HEARTBREAKING!


(I wouldn't mind being the person massaging his back, if I'm being honest.)


I almost wish he'd skip the KL exhibition match. In the first place, I kind of need to study; but more importantly, there's really no need to play an exhibition match because it does nothing for his career. It'd be fine under normal circumstances, but I don't see how it'd be a good idea for him to do anything strenuous while nursing a back injury. Of course, an exhibition match is inherently not strenuous, seeing as how it's just for fun; but...I just want him fully rested and 100% recovered to take on the 2009 season. It pains me to see him in pain, it hurts me to see him lose, and I'd like back the days of old when he was criticised for being too damn good, for trampling over his opponents and winning his matches with one hand tied behind his back and one eye closed. Not just because I wasn't around in those days, but because he deserves it. There's just no one quite like him: talented, graceful, gracious, and determined.

Hard to imagine Roger Federer ever throwing racquets in anger, but he did, way back when. It shows that people truly do change; it's only a matter of whether they want to or not.

Anyway, assuming he doesn't pull out last minute, OMG I'M SEEING ROGER FEDERER LIVE. He's doing some meet-and-greet and autographs-signing at some Petronas don't know what building, but I can't make it 'cause I'd still be driving towards KL at that time (12 noon-ish or something). I attempted to make my parents leave for KL on Monday so that I can go get his autograph (and tell him I think he's the most beautiful man in the world, both inside and out) but they shot down that suggestion even before I'd fully pitched my idea. DAMMIT! I don't know how I'm gonna stalk him. I probably wouldn't actually; it takes too much effort. And I've always been bad at this kind of things.

I'm still holding out for watching him play a competitive match live. I'm seriously considering Roland Garros next year, since it coincides with the three-week summer break between post-exams and pre-pupillage, but Roland Garros is Nadal's tournament. Of course I hope Roger finally wins the French Open, but the odds aren't in his favour, and I'd much rather not watch live tennis with the French. They're damn noisy, have I mentioned? I'd much, much rather watch Wimbledon because it embodies all the prissy, stiff-upper-lip stereotypes that we've lovingly (and not-so-lovingly) come to associate with the British. No banners are allowed in the stadiums, and it is so quiet that you wonder if there are anyone watching at all. Wimbledon is also the most prestigious tournament in tennis. And because Roger Federer is the King of Wimbledon, he WILL get back his crown next year.

It really sucks that it's about the same time as pupillage. Even when I knew nothing about tennis apart from the fact that it was a racquet sport, I'd heard of Wimbledon, and I knew who Roger Federer was. Did I know of the US Open? Australian Open? French Open? No, I didn't. But Wimbledon? Everyone knows Wimbledon and Roger Federer, even people who don't care about tennis. It's the same way everyone knows Tiger Woods even though most people don't give a shit about golf. I'd save like mad and commit robbery to watch Wimbledon in Wimbledon. Seriously.

On another note, Andy Murray was all, "Winning Roger Federer means as much to me as winning the Tennis Masters Cup." He practically killed himself trying to beat a Federer who wasn't 100% fit, who was evidently in pain in the third set, and if he'd done less than that, I would hate his guts. Letting Roger win is probably the biggest insult anyone could dish out to him. So, even though I'm damn irritated with the British press that's writing less-than-true headlines like "Murray Dumps Federer from Masters Cup" (more like Federer's Back Dumps Federer from Masters Cup, fucking stupid people who write about tennis without knowing the first thing about it), Murray's obvious respect for Roger has endeared me to him a little.

Having said that, Davydenko for the win tonight, please. Murray is already the guy that KO-ed Federer from the tournament; I don't want him to be the guy that KO-ed Federer from the tournament, and won the tournament.

***

B. I am soooo sick of studying

All thanks to the R2P paper, I haven't stepped out of my house since Monday. I am so sick of my room, the living room, this tiny apartment. I need to shop, I need to go out, I need to do nothing without feeling guilty.

I NEED THIS SEMESTER TO END.

I haven't started studying for UN Law and Conflicts, and I'm so lazy, and I can't be bothered. ARGH. This is really bad.

I'm really super irritated with the road works happening in the estate behind my condo, I must say. Yesterday while I was trying to pull some argument out of my arse in order to complete my paper (and failing), the road works started as soon as the rain stopped, and the drilling was SO DAMN NOISY and distracting. The drilling also woke me up from my absolutely necessary beauty sleep a few times which drove me batshit insane.

Whatever the fuck they're doing, surely it's not as important as my law school grades. Seriously. SERIOUSLY. Get your priorities straight, people. Me > The Whole World (Minus Roger Federer hahahahahaha I'm kidding).

***

C. Grey's Anatomy

After five seasons, the show's getting a bit old. But I must say this:

I love Izzie Stevens. She incurred the wrath of many fans with the whole Denny/stealing hearts/LVAT storyline which I didn't care for too much, but she's always been one of my favourite Grey's character, if not my favourite (toss-up between her and Christina/Cristina), and in episode 3x06, I loved her even more. Her whole rant to the army doctor about not using animals as experiments, as "live tissue", was awesome, awesome, awesome.

I don't know if it's a cause for concern but I do see a lot of myself in her. She gets emotionally attached and she cares way, way too much, and she has a very strong sense of right and wrong. I think she's wonderful, really. And she's finally with Alex! Yayness.

before sunrise // before sunset


Previously:
- - Tuesday, Aug. 29, 2017
I'm moving. - Sunday, Jul. 11, 2010
In all honesty - Tuesday, Jul. 06, 2010
What I want for my birthday... - Sunday, Jul. 04, 2010
On Roger's behalf. - Friday, Jul. 02, 2010