Davis Cup Final Day 3 - IT'S DO OR DIE.
written: 11:50 p.m. on Sunday, Nov. 23, 2008

Both Juan Martin Del Potro and David Ferrer, the #1 for Argentina and Spain respectively, are not playing the fourth rubber. In Del Potro's place is some J. A-something dude whom I've never heard of whose name I can't even remember how to spell, and in Ferrer's place is Fernando Verdasco, whose name I can't spell too, who played doubles yesterday.

Argentina dropped the first set, but was up 4-1 in the second when I went to take a shower. So imagine my shock when I was done, checked the scores, and saw...6-6.

Seriously?! If Argentina loses this rubber, Spain wins the Davis Cup. Argentina HAS to win this match to keep alive its hopes of winning the title, and if they bag this rubber, the title will be on Nalby's racquet - and Nalby is very, very likely to deliver, because he's awesome like that.

Anyway, I love tie-breaks when they don't involve Roger (too nerve-wrecking), so I went out to watch. Argentina quickly runs to a 6-3 lead, awesomely giving itself 3 set points. The first is on Spain's serve. Argentina and Spain engage in a long rally. Argentina plays defensively, seemingly more interested in keeping the ball in play than hitting the winner.

I was all, OMG WHAT IS HE DOING? WHY DOES HE KEEP HITTING STRAIGHT TO THE SPAIN GUY? OMG HE'S WAITING FOR SPAIN TO MAKE THE ERROR.

And at the exact second I thought that, SPAIN'S RETURN GOES STRAIGHT INTO THE NET.

Two more sets. Just two more sets. Let Nalby win it, please! He wants it so badly that he didn't attend the presser after yesterday's doubles which he lost. Apparently he was fined. Poor thing! Oh how I wish I could give him a hug.

Okay I need to finish my Conflicts shit so that I can watch Nalby's match later. Yay!

before sunrise // before sunset


Previously:
- - Tuesday, Aug. 29, 2017
I'm moving. - Sunday, Jul. 11, 2010
In all honesty - Tuesday, Jul. 06, 2010
What I want for my birthday... - Sunday, Jul. 04, 2010
On Roger's behalf. - Friday, Jul. 02, 2010