And Spain wins.
written: 2:18 a.m. on Monday, Nov. 24, 2008

Okay, so it was quite obvious that Argentina's chances of winning were slim after they lost the doubles, but I really thought Acasuso was going to win after he secured the two sets to one lead. I really, really thought so. How did Verdasco come back from 1-2 to win 3-2? And bloody hell, the last set was 6-1 to Verdasco! He won the match, and the championship, on Acasuso's serve.

Poor Acasuso was all red-eyed and crying. Poor thing! It must really suck knowing you more or less single-handedly cost your team, and your country, the title. But then, Nalby should have won the doubles (I still don't know why he didn't), and Del Potro should have won his rubber on Friday.

Should have, should have. Oh well. Since I'm striving to look for silver linings now, on the bright side, Spain won without Rafael Nadal. Any Spanish victories without Nadal is a good victory in my book, so YAY!

Sigh. I feel so bad for my Nalby; he really wanted to win it. And he was about the only player on the team who could win it - and he lost the doubles. I wonder if Argentina will get a shot again next year, but they'll have to start all over again. And I'll be supporting Switzerland for the eventual win, for obvious reasons...but then, if Roger doesn't play beyond the first round, there's no way Switzerland would have any slim chance of getting anywhere close to the final. Roger Federer IS the Swiss team, at least in the World Group anyway.

Also, oh my god, Juan Martin Del Potro is soooo overrated. He better get his act together next year and put Argentina in the final again. I get that he's 20 and everything and understandably crumbled under the pressure, but still. I really don't see anything threatening or dangerous about his game, from what I've seen. Against Roger in Madrid he was a walk in the park; against Tomas Berdych in the Japan Open final he was all sniffly and apparently sick and therefore he lost; against Djokovic in Shanghai he was completely unmemorable to the extent that I don't even know what to say about his game; and against Lopez in the Davis Cup...well, he lost. Enough said, right? And he always, ALWAYS looks like he's about to faint when he's playing a match. Why? It really annoys me.

On another but related note, I think I'm quite over Djokovic. I think the fact that he's 10 points away from taking over the #2 spot has finally caught up with me, and I'm not supporting anyone who's a clear threat to Roger! Djokovic can entertain me in the early rounds of the Australian Open, then crash and burn before the semi-final, please, thank you.

And lastly, David Nalbandian has the most gorgeous double-handed backhand I've seen on an ATP player thus far. He's the only player that plays a double-handed backhand without looking gay in the process. I'm sorry but the double-handed backhand is SUCH a girl backhand. Andy Murray and even Djoker and I don't even know who else look damn gay playing it - especially Murray. Nalby is the only one that looks manly with a two-handed backhand, AND makes it look gorgeous to boot.

I love Nalby! I want to marry him. <3

before sunrise // before sunset


Previously:
- - Tuesday, Aug. 29, 2017
I'm moving. - Sunday, Jul. 11, 2010
In all honesty - Tuesday, Jul. 06, 2010
What I want for my birthday... - Sunday, Jul. 04, 2010
On Roger's behalf. - Friday, Jul. 02, 2010