I just...I can't even say.
written: 4:40 p.m. on Tuesday, Nov. 25, 2008

Conflicts was an unmitigated disaster.

I think it's about time I observed my responsibility to protect myself from further, more catastrophic unmitigated disasters.

Oh my god I don't want to study anymore. Whine, whine, whine.

**

Two things before I sic R2P on myself:

1. My parents are utterly amazing. Like, so amazing that I haven't the adequate words to utilise that would remotely hope to do justice to how truly amazing they are. Our television, the one in the living room, has been with us since time immemorial, i.e. ever since we moved to the present domicile (um haha) on August 19, 1998, Wednesday afternoon (it scares me that I remember these insignificant details when I couldn't fucking remember where I read that shit about incorporating lex mecatoria in contracts for the stupid Conflicts exam). It is this huge-ass analogue TV set. Yesterday afternoon, for some unknown reason, the on/off button magically and, I thought, miraculously stopped working. So I was all, YAY WE CAN FINALLY GET A NEW TV!

But guess what? My dad came home and when I was all, "Let's buy a Sony!", he went on this spiel about repairing the TV and how it's damn expensive to buy a new LCD TV now, especially since my brother's getting a new computer.

What the fuck? Like I care that my brother's getting a new computer. In the first place why does he need a new computer when he's going to serve the nation in two months' time? In the second place, our TV is spoiled. Not only is it spoiled, it's almost half as old as I am. What is the logic in repairing something so old when all that trouble and extra cost can be saved by just buying a new one, since my preferred course of action is inevitable anyway?

Then again, I shouldn't be surprised. When our VCR finally broke and died, my dad was quite pissed when my mom and I went out to buy a DVR (sorry, I HAD to record my Federer matches. Downloading takes way too much time and it makes me old). Whenever an electrical appliance breaks down, his first solution isn't to buy a new one, but to repair. And honestly? I don't get it. My first and intuitive course of action is definitely to buy a new one.

On second thought, I'm not the one footing the credit card bill at the end of the month. Maybe that has a lot to do with it. Um, haha.

Anyway, apparently my mom went to the market to talk to some TV repair guy. I have no idea what's going on, but let's hope it costs about $500 to repair the TV so that we can finally have a nice LCD/whatever/HDTV/shit in the house!

2. Remember that Totally Awesome KL trip? Well, I forgot to mention this: I DROVE ON THE MALAYSIAN HIGHWAY, LIKE OMG. I wanted to drive on the way there but my dad was all, No cannot! Which was surprising, considering I never offer to take the driver's seat when we go anywhere at home because I'm always too lazy to drive, so I thought the folks would jump at the chance of me driving for once.

On the way back though, I got to drive for thirty minutes oh my god.

Honestly, it wasn't that great. Driving for an hour continuously with no rest is really tiring - and I only drove for thirty minutes. And the road was really shit. I could actually feel the difference between the roads that I normally drive on and the road that I drove on - it was decidedly bumpier, less even. Which makes sense, since it's just a highway so whatever, but it didn't make for smooth, pleasant driving, to be sure.

And yeah. I kept getting stuck behind these slow-ass huge vehicles like trucks and shit, so the overtaking was a bit of a pressure cooker, especially since cars drive impossibly fast on the right lane. And even though I speed unabashedly here, the most I'd go is maybe 100 km/h at the fly under (or whatever) thing from Bukit Timah to the right turn into school. I don't even go beyond 100 km/h on the expressway 'cause I'm not aware of where the stupid speed cameras are and I don't want to get a speeding ticket.

In Malaysia though, driving at 110 km/h is quite slow. And yet, it was like, omg I'm losing control of the car!!11!1!, especially when overtaking slow-ass huge vehicles. It was quite scary, but also kind of fun in a sadistic sort of way.

Still, I'd prefer to be driven, thank you. Big surprise there.

**

One more thing: There's this weird lump underneath my right eyelid. No idea what the fuck it is but it's been there for at least a couple of weeks. I'm gonna go see the doctor on Thursday (I'm doing my hair tomorrow - hair is more important than my eye, of course) and my mom was all, "Oh it needs to be sliced out."

Oh great, that really puts me in a calm and collected mood, Mom. But yeah, whatever. It's not big, it doesn't hurt, but it's obviously an abnormal growth so it should come out. I'm just afraid that I wouldn't be able to use my eyes after the procedure is done because, like, I've been looking forward to watching my Federer matches post-exam, and if I can't look at a TV/laptop screen after having an incision into my eyelid, then I WILL BLOODY DIE. Besides, what am I supposed to do? Lie on my bed and stare at the ceiling?

I'm also hoping that the doctor would tell me that I can just apply some cream and be done with it, because the mere thought of a sharp, pointy object getting close to my eye, let alone cutting into my eyelid, freaks the living shit out of me. I probably wouldn't be able to wear contacts for a while. Which means I'd be stuck at home for a while. UGH. This better be done before I leave for Taiwan.

Hmm, forgot this other thing I was going to say. Oh yes! I was going to say, 2008 has been quite shit for me. First my face collapsed on me (and it's not even 100% recovered. I still feel weird twitches on the palsied side of my face), and now some random I don't even know what has decided it'd be really peachy to take up temporary residency underneath my right eyelid. GREAT. How absolutely tragic.

Lastly, fuck I really need to clean my room. There was some spider hopping around my table which I was too freaked to throw out of the window so now it's hiding somewhere, and I feel itchy and gross. I think the last time I cleaned my room was like last year? I am so disgusting. Okay, it was probably after I came back from Europe...but I need a thorough, complete cleaning of the room. It's absolutely disgusting. I don't even want to think about what weird creatures could be festering and multiplying in some dark, moist, dust-friendly corner of my room.

Omg, ew, shudder. CRIES. Bleah, I need a maid.

**

ETA:

Er yeah should be studying but came across a video of Roger in his young, angry, racquet-smashing days.

These videos are so precious and I really enjoy watching a really young Roger being all emotional and angry on court, because it makes me appreciate the wall of cool and calm that he is now, and the amazing sportsman he's grown into. If there's one thing you will never see Roger Federer do anymore, it's smashing his racquet, which so many other players continue doing (Andy Roddick, for one). I love how he's outgrown that phase now, because it's yet another thing about him that puts him head and shoulders above everyone else.

I love me a champion, thank you. I love me a Federer.

**

ETA:

This is just hilarious. Marat Safin goes crazy after being called out for a foot fault which gives his opponent a break point:

Can't catch half of what Safin bitched about, but oh my god, absolutely hilarious. He goes on to drop serve in the same game, and during the changeover he sits in his chair and continues ranting at the umpire. HAHAHA. This is nowhere near John McEnroe's infamous "You can't be serious!" and his varied instances of cussing at umpires (and getting fined for them, among other things), but is still pretty damn hilarious.

Quite tempted to watch all the videos of Marat breaking his racquets but, gah, I have to study, alas. How sad.

Wait, one more! Roger says 'shit'!

Thank goodness this was the Wimbledon final that he won. "It's just killing me today." Oh Roger, you break my heart, but YOU WON THE MATCH! Though, yeah, totally understand the frustration, since he was down like 0-2 or something in that set; can't really tell from the bad quality of the video.

Roger hates Hawkeye. But then, that Nadal shot was probably in by the fur on the tennis ball. As long as the ball touches the line even a bit, it's considered in - which is quite ludicrous, considering 99% of the ball is out. But I think Hawkeye is a godsend for really bad calls, balls called out that are obviously in, especially on crucial points, so it's a bit of a give-and-take.

Anyway, like oh my god, I've never heard Roger talk that much on court, let alone swear. My life is complete!

ETA:

A louder one!

He misses, goes, "Shit!", and starts smiling. HAHA it probably just slipped.

I'm tempted to post the video of Nadal calling for a fucking trainer while serving for the match because he had a fucking banana stuck in his throat but I closed it already and I don't want to deface my blog with videos of Nadal. Suffice to say, I didn't think it was cute at all, and the time-delaying tactic was just weird. Whatever.

Shit I need to study.

before sunrise // before sunset


Previously:
- - Tuesday, Aug. 29, 2017
I'm moving. - Sunday, Jul. 11, 2010
In all honesty - Tuesday, Jul. 06, 2010
What I want for my birthday... - Sunday, Jul. 04, 2010
On Roger's behalf. - Friday, Jul. 02, 2010