Annoying TV shows and a horrible dream.
written: 2:16 a.m. on Thursday, Dec. 04, 2008

FIRST PART OF THE ENTRY CONTAINS SPOILERS FOR THE LATEST EPISODES OF HEROES, CHUCK AND GOSSIP GIRL.

1. Heroes is so ridiculously stupid.

It makes me wonder how it's actually possible for a show to make every single one of its characters utterly unlikeable and irritating. I genuinely, genuinely cannot think of a single character that I give two shits about anymore. Well, this has been a long time in the making already, and I've taken to watching the stupid show just for the plot...wait, that's assuming a plot actually exists. More often than not, that's a horribly wrong assumption to make.

"Eclipse Part II" - the whole eclipse "storyline" - had absolutely no point to it. Just NO POINT AT ALL. The "heroes" lose their powers over two episodes just to get them back in the end, after the eclipse ends, and what have the episodes accomplished? Has any storyline been moved forward, character developed? Nope, we're back to square one. A two-parter filler? Really? What a fucking waste of time. Characters died just to come back to life at the end of the episode - what is the point? WHAT IS THE POINT? Oh my god, I just can't understand how this mess of a show isn't cancelled. I can write a more coherent story than those talentless hacks running this piece of shit show.

Even better: instead of character growth, we got the exact opposite. Please don't try to convince me that Noah Bennett would choose killing Sylar over rushing to the hospital to be with Claire who was in serious, mortal danger. I'm not one of those obsessive, nit-picky fans that camp at TWoP and analyse every last detail of the show to death, but even I thought it was very out of character for him.

Wait, character? What's that? The worst affront to my sensibilities and my slimmest understanding of the concept of 'intelligence' is the way they've treated Elle. She was introduced in Season 2 as some unstable sociopath-type, then suddenly a few weeks ago, during that amazingly disjointed and pointless retcon episode, she suddenly became normal and was all tormented about manipulating Sylar. A few weeks later, she skirted the lines of Unstable Sociopath again, just to retreat when Sylar got all hot and bothered with her, just to become a sociopath-type AGAIN one episode later because it served the storyline. If there were an actual storyline, it wouldn't be completely bad; but seeing as there's no storyline...

And of course, Elle died. Because Sylar, after finding out that he wasn't a Petrelli, decided that he couldn't be redeemed. What the fuck? Thanks for wasting my time with the lame-ass Sylar Redemption Arc, faux-writers. HOW ARE THESE FUCKHEADS STILL IN THE BUSINESS? I can't believe it.

And worst, WORST of all? The show has actually succeeded in turning me against Nathan. My hot, yummy, bastion of all things sensible and good Nathan Petrelli is now persona non grata to me. That nonsense he spewed about how he was totally on board with his boring father's plan to give people "abilities" and how it could help in a, and I quote, "Somalia, Darfur, Bosnia"? All I can say is: HELLO, HAVE YOU HEARD OF R2P? When did NATHAN become stupid? I thought the Petrelli brother born with this natural ability was Peter.

I hate Hiro, I don't care about Parkman and Daphne, I hate Claire, I've hated Mohinder since Season 2, and Elle's dead. But I don't care that Elle's dead anyway; Kristen Bell was clearly wasting her time on this mess. This is just the worst show ever. Ever. I think even One Tree Hill is better than this piece of crap; at least One Tree Hill is unintentionally hilarious. Heroes just pisses the shit out of me because of how sanctimonious it is, and how it takes itself so damn seriously, and the way it's amnesiac and doesn't understand the importance of this thing called Continuity to the coherence of a storyline.

I HATE HEROES.

2. Oh my god, what the fuck, Nate Archibald!

The only thing that Nate has going on for him is that he's ridiculously, heart-stoppingly pretty. His prettiness still has an effect on me, such that I actually gasped at his prettiness when he was in that mildly cute scene with Vanessa when he asked her to the whatever Snow Flakes ball shit. Otherwise? He's fucking dim. He's so damn stupid that I have no words to describe his abject stupidity. Choosing Vanessa over Jenny even after Vanessa stole the letter he sent to Jenny? How the hell was THAT worse than the lame-ass prank that Jenny pulled on Vanessa? The scolding he gave to Jenny makes no sense.

The Nate character is possibly the worst-written character on the show. I guess you can't really blame the writers, since Chace Crawford has as much acting abilities as my bedroom door. But still, he's so ridiculous, and is actually more judgmental than stupid Dan sometimes, would you believe?

I actually found Nate and Vanessa kind of sweet earlier on, but after the asshat letter-stealing, I wish Vanessa would just die. She's so, so hard to like.

Also? Serena needs to dump Aaron. HE'S SO FUCKING UGLY. He's so fucking ugly that I HAVE to type it out instead of resorting to the polite 'fugly'. He has the personality of a cardboard, and Serena has more chemistry with her handphone than this fucking ugly pretend-artist pretentious douchebag. I hate him so much. HATE. Everytime he's on screen I just tune out. And his stupid ex-girlfriend Lexie annoyed the living crap out of me.

On a brighter note, Chuck/Blair continues to own my heart. Loved their little wager, and Blair's statement, "We both know that I'm your one and only." Apparently there's gonna be some major Chuck/Blair action next week. I can't wait! If it weren't for them, Gossip Girl would probably piss me off as much as Heroes does.

3. "CHUCK" OWNS MY SOUL.

I LOVE CHUCK.

I LOVE CHARAH. (Chuck and Sarah)

I hated Jill, and actually pumped my fists into the air and went "YES!!!!!!!!!" when Jill turned out to be Fulcrum. HAHAHAHAHAHA! Whoever tries to get between my Charah will not live to see the light, not even the oh-so-pretty Bryce Larkin. Chuck is so sweet to Sarah, and his out-of-this-world sweetness to her was exactly why I hated, HATED Jill, and why I liked Chuck a lot less when he messed around with Jill at the expense of Sarah. I get the whole wanting a normal relationship which he can't have with Sarah, but whatever, TV shows are TV shows for a reason - they're not real life. I don't care about how it works in "real life", because in reel life, Chuck Bartowski does not betray Sarah Walker. EVER.

And in the end, he doesn't! I kind of almost cried when he said that seeing how Jill was about to kill Sarah helped him decide to arrest the bitch.

I love my Chasey (Chuck and Casey), too. I loved the kiss between them - it was simultaneously hot and hilarious.

I just love everything about this show. If I mention everything I love about it it'll take me all night, and I'm too tired for that.

I LOVE CHUCK!

***

In other news, I had this horrible dream in which I sat for the Conflicts exam, just to find out at the end of the exam that it was 1 hr 15 min instead of two hours. When time was up, TYL flipped through my answer booklet and shook his head when he saw that I only filled up five pages (double-spaced).

I woke up, and, upon realising it was just a dream, was genuinely relieved.

Still, I'd be ecstatic to just get a C. If I fail - and it's very, VERY possible - I'm gonna have to take 28 credits next semester which is just not humanly possible. At all. So. TYL, please be kind to your poor students, thanks.

Another thing: I am absolutely kicking myself for being so slow, so utterly, unforgivably slow, on the uptake, but: Months after I started reading Martin Amis' Money, I finally, FINALLY realised that there's a pun on the full title. "Money: A Suicide Note."

FUCKING BRILLIANT, and I'm a total retard for not getting it until, well, last night. Funnily, after it hit me that there's a pun on "note", I flipped the page and there it was, the narrator talking about money being a suicide note.

I'm just glad I got it - finally - before I read that part.

Okay, I'm tired. Seeing the doctor at 3 later on. The fucking lump is still there. I'd be at the edge of my seat to see how he's gonna explain THAT.

Oh, and I watched the 2004 Masters Cup final against Lleyton Hewitt. HOW AWESOME WAS ROGER. His reaction at winning the championship was SO cute! He hit this amazing serve down the T, which Hewitt managed to hit back, and Roger stared at the ball, waiting to see where it'd fall. Before the ball even landed behind the baseline, he let out a "Yay!" and JUMPED INTO THE AIR! He's so adorable I can't stand it!

Roger totally dominated the match. Hewitt got himself into the match a bit more after the rain delay, but it was Roger who was the clear winner from the very first shot that he fired. He's just impeccable. Amazing. Patrick McEnroe, who was the commentator along with this other dude, was completely swooning over Roger throughout the whole thing.

And what's even more amazing: I can't imagine how I ever once thought Lleyton Hewitt was anywhere near the boundaries of 'hot'. Because oh my god, he's so fugs it's not funny. Not. Funny.

I must get my hands on the 2005 TMC final. Roger lost to Nalby, but Roger also injured his ankle and played it out, so I MUST watch it. Besides, it's against Nalby, my #2! Yay!

before sunrise // before sunset


Previously:
- - Tuesday, Aug. 29, 2017
I'm moving. - Sunday, Jul. 11, 2010
In all honesty - Tuesday, Jul. 06, 2010
What I want for my birthday... - Sunday, Jul. 04, 2010
On Roger's behalf. - Friday, Jul. 02, 2010