What we want, what we get.
written: 12:50 a.m. on Sunday, Feb. 01, 2009

I watched the Sylvia Chang play tonight and by the end of it I was quite close to tears. Sylvia Chang brought across her character's despair and desolation really well, but beyond that, I saw bits and pieces of certain aspects of my personality in her character - and that really scared me.

Beyond even that, Li Xiang's (pun on 'ambition') eventual death and the last line of the play - 'Li Xiang, I still remember you' - uttered by Sylvia Chang's character struck a chord in me. I don't know how to put it into words. It was pretty much what the entire play was about, the extent to which we'd go to get what we want, and in the process of clawing and hawing our way to the top, we lose sight of that which we started out to achieve in the first place.

I also noticed that the three main female characters are pretty tragic: Sylvia Chang's character, the protagonist, gets the CEO position but ends up alone; Jia Ling is the office slut that no one takes seriously; and Sophie, the hard worker who ends up with a divorce, and pining for a man that only wanted to make use of her. What a strong statement about the plight of the career woman.

It's sad. It's so sad. Thank goodness the last line still at least has some semblance of hope.

I can't remember the last time I saw a play that moved me to such an extent. I really enjoyed Sylvia Chang's 20 30 40 because, once again, it was relatable. This one hit even closer to home. I don't consider myself a person of simple needs and simple wants; I tend to demand things that are usually beyond my reach. With working life looming in the horizon, I can't help but feel apprehensive of the person I might become.

I don't want to be like the central character; life isn't worth living like that. But sometimes you don't know how deeply you've sunk until you're nearly six feet under.

***

In other news, we had a three-hour tennis session (we: me, Baoyue, Justin, Simon, and Baoyue's friend Alex) and I feel completely beat right now. I'm really sad to announce that my forehand is only proper 50% of the time. I'd hit a first ball the correct way, and when the ball flies back to me, I fall back to my old, bad, and wrong habit again.

ARGH. I need to find some time to hit against a wall and get the proper method drilled into my system. I can visualise how it works, but when it comes to the actual hitting, the racquet opens up again. It's so frustrating.

Also, Dinara Safina was completely thrashed by Serena Williams in the final - 0-6, 3-6. SIGH. I thought she'd lose, but this wasn't even putting up a fight. How sad.

And Roger plays Nadal tomorrow. I can't wait! Rod Laver is presenting the trophy again. I expect tears from Roger again, a la AO 2006!

before sunrise // before sunset


Previously:
- - Tuesday, Aug. 29, 2017
I'm moving. - Sunday, Jul. 11, 2010
In all honesty - Tuesday, Jul. 06, 2010
What I want for my birthday... - Sunday, Jul. 04, 2010
On Roger's behalf. - Friday, Jul. 02, 2010