Too dumb. (Edit: Drooling over Roger, and Singapore nationalism.)
written: 12:16 a.m. on Friday, Feb. 06, 2009

I'm trying to stay awake long enough to prepare for the Nation Building tutorial I'll be attending later on today (really difficult to stay awake considering I had class fro 9 a.m. to 9.30 p.m. and I'm therefore really tired) and I'm reading a six-page article that aims to sum up Singapore. This part completely cracked me up:

"Second, Singapore is the only country in Southeast Asia that has consistently held free elections since independence and also has not resorted to the imposition of military or "emergency" rule."

I'm not going to argue over what "free elections" actually means, but the bolded part? Oh, my, god. All I can say is, why do we need emergency laws when our ordinary laws are like emergency laws anyway? Internal Security Act, anyone?

Whoever wrote this tripe is either really stupid, or...really stupid.

*

ETA at 1.15 a.m.:

I really ought to finish this other article about nationalism in Singapore ASAP so that I can sleep but I've since taken to looking at pictures of Roger in his forum, and I just want to swoon over the following:

1. I LOVE HIS HAIR. OMG, his natural, luscious, gorgeous curls! I love love LOVE his hair. Maybe the reason he lost the Australian Open was because he cut his hair? When he won the US Open last year his hair was about a few inches away from Too Damn Long; this time, it was Too Damn Short. Longer hair brings him luck. He should never cut his hair too short before a Grand Slam!

2. I LOVE HIS SMILE.

It positively sets my heart aflutter!

3. He is the only man in the world that looks unbelievably sexy with a sweat-drenched t-shirt. I realise that pros don't practice in dri-fit clothes and pictures from Roger's practice sessions very often feature him all sweaty with parts of his t-shirt soaked with sweat. I find that incredibly sexy. It makes me want to jump him.

4. I love his profile. Like him, it is a thing of beauty:

5. I love his dress sense:

OMG! And I LOVE the white cardigan he wore to last year's Wimbledon:

Trust Roger to wear a CARDIGAN to Centre Court instead of a normal warm-up jacket!

6. I LOVE his broad chest, his broad shoulders. He's so manly, I can't stand it:

7. HE'S THE MOST BEAUTIFUL MAN ALIVE. I love him soooo much.

*

I'm so damn sleepy but argh I haven't finished this article. OMG.

I must say, though, that I cannot, for the life of me, comprehend why Singapore was so keen to join Malaysia. I realise this is an instance of perfect 20/20 hindsight talking, but honestly? I think getting kicked out of Malaysia was the best thing that happened to Singapore.

Prof. MT noted with interest how Singaporeans refer to our separation from Malaysia with the decidedly less flattering idea of being kicked out of the Federation. I just read something in this article that just made it all come together. The article said that the separation from Malaysia forced nationalism to emerge in Singapore, quoting some lecturer that said it inspired a feeling of defiance along the lines of, "We can do this ourselves."

And so when we say 'kicked out' - okay, when I say kicked out - we say it with an almost scornful, relishing irony. Like this: Yeah we got kicked out, but look at who's ass we're kicking now! In a sense, it's a form of self-deprecation; in a broader and more important sense, it's thumbing our noses - okay, mine - at history and saying, We've kicked more ass than you, so HA to you for kicking us out.

In the simplest terms possible: We couldn't possibly care any less. I couldn't possibly care any less. The IVLE forum has some discussion about whether or not Singaporeans would ever be willing to be Malaysians again.

The first thing that came to my head? "Er what the fuck, we were never Malaysians."

I think the PAP and LKY and his Family should be quite proud that our two years with Malaysia have eventually meant so little - if it even means anything anymore. So little, in fact, that I forgot it even happened. Does anyone care, really? Can any Singaporean honestly see himself being a Malaysian just because the Singapore economy or whatever looks dire and irreparable? (Basically the guy said what if Singapore is facing some difficult times; would you want to join Malaysia. What the fuck stupid question is this right? I KNOW.)

No offence, but I'd rather die than to ever see Singapore being a part of Malaysia. And I don't even consider myself patriotic, mostly because most of the time I'm too busy being pissed off at the pea-brained Singaporeans to feel like I really belong here. But still, as a holder of the pink IC and a Singaporean passport, I have some pride in this tiny little pimple - and that minuscule amount of pride is enough to allow me to make the bold statement I made at the start of this paragraph.

It's not just Malaysia; it extends to all the countries in the world, especially Malaysia. Especially China. But the point is, although I'm not a big stickler to the principle of sovereignty and sovereign equality, our sovereignty means too much to be defiled by petty and empty economic considerations.

Actually, why am I even talking about this? I was quite tempted to post a reply in that thread along the lines of, "WTF are you on? It's not going to happen. Ever. What kind of a Singaporean would ever envision such a nightmare, even as a thought exercise?" I didn't eventually for obvious reasons, but the point is - what a stupid proposition. It's Not Going to Happen, Ever.

And I'm REALLY tired so I'm gonna finish this shit up and go to bed. I'll try - sincerely and valiantly - to wrestle myself away from all these gorgeous pictures of Roger floating around on the Internet. Wish me luck!

before sunrise // before sunset


Previously:
- - Tuesday, Aug. 29, 2017
I'm moving. - Sunday, Jul. 11, 2010
In all honesty - Tuesday, Jul. 06, 2010
What I want for my birthday... - Sunday, Jul. 04, 2010
On Roger's behalf. - Friday, Jul. 02, 2010