Life and tennis.
written: 7:02 p.m. on Sunday, Feb. 15, 2009

I'm completely PMS-ing right now - this is my explanation for this post and the previous one.

***

Tennis and tennis terms fascinate me. The analogies I can draw to real life are endless, and the tennis metaphors I can use won't ever get old. In tennis, it starts with love; at the end of it, there's a winner and a loser. Much like life.

This is from Andy Roddick's post-match interview after Roger spectacularly defeated him at the 2007 Australian Open semi, one of the best matches of Roger's career:

Q. What was it like for you just being there at the end of that?

ANDY RODDICK: It was frustrating. You know, it was miserable. It sucked. It was terrible. Besides that, it was fine.

...

Q. Can you just take us from 4‑All on. Up to 4‑4, you're in the match. Then you got broken.

ANDY RODDICK: Yeah, I got broken. Then I got broken three more times. Then I got broken two more times in the third set. Then it was over 26 minutes later. Is that what you saw, too?

...

Q. How do you go forward from here? How do you counter a game like that?

ANDY RODDICK: Well, you know, I just got to keep doing what I do. I wake up every morning. I put in as much as I can every day. I mean, I don't know if you'll find someone who questions that. You do your best not to get discouraged. You try to take it like a man. I caught an absolute beating tonight. There's no doubt about it. There's no two ways about it. You deal with it and you go back to the drawing board. You act like a professional, and you try to keep working hard.

I feel very much like him right now.

before sunrise // before sunset


Previously:
- - Tuesday, Aug. 29, 2017
I'm moving. - Sunday, Jul. 11, 2010
In all honesty - Tuesday, Jul. 06, 2010
What I want for my birthday... - Sunday, Jul. 04, 2010
On Roger's behalf. - Friday, Jul. 02, 2010