OMG NO.
written: 2:44 a.m. on Wednesday, Feb. 18, 2009


Dear Fans,

Today I am disappointed to announce that I am withdrawing from both Dubai and the Davis Cup tie in the United States. This was a hard decision to make as I am missing not only one of my favorite events on tour in Dubai but I am also missing out on an opportunity to help my country try and move on to the next round of Davis Cup. After injuring my back last fall, I did not have enough time to strengthen it completely. As a precautionary measure, I will use the next few weeks to make sure the back injury is fully rehabilitated and I am ready for the rest of the 2009 season.

As always, thanks for your continued support.
Roger

OH MY GOD ROGER. SAY IT ISN'T SO!

I can't believe I have to wait until MARCH 9 to watch him. OH MY GOD I'M SO DEPRESSED. And and OH MY GOD HE'S NOT PLAYING DAVIS CUP. That's even worse than him not playing Dubai; I was really looking forward to Davis Cup! Without him, Switzerland is definitely going to lose. SHIT!

This is the worst news, absolute worst news. I thought his back was fine already. Despite losing, he was on fire in the Australian Open. I don't know what's going on and the worst thing about being a Fed Fan that he's extremely private to the extent that nobody knows anything until he says so or until he gives his people the green light to tell. We never get paparazzi pictures of him, and before the official announcement on his site, there was absolutely zero inkling that he might pull out of Dubai and Davis Cup.

I'M SO SAD. I hate not knowing what's going on with him and not getting him on my TV. Above all else, I can't believe his back is still a problem. He made absolutely no mention of the persisting back problem from the start of the season until now - and he's played four tournaments, two of which were official tournaments. Why must this happen to him? Now his crappy serving and first serve percentage in Australia totally makes sense. (He still served the most number of aces after Andy Roddick though, because he's amazing like that.)

This is such a waste! He would've been able to gain points in Dubai 'cause he lost in the first round last year and so had no points to defend/lose. Now he can't get himself extra points, and he can't help Switzerland advance to the next round of Davis Cup. What a shame! He pretty much single-handedly got Switzerland back into the World Group last year and now he can't play.

Oh my god I'm so sad I don't even know what to say anymore. Poor Roger. I feel so bad for him. I'd suffer his aching back if it means his back is 100% healthy! I hope he recovers soon. In fact, I hope he recovers in time to change his mind about not playing Davis Cup because OMG I really want to watch him play Davis Cup. ARGH THIS IS SO DEVASTATING I THINK I'M GOING TO CRY.

OH MY GOD THIS MEANS HE WASN'T EVEN 100% FIT WHEN HE PLAYED THAT STUPID AUSTRALIAN OPEN FINAL. OH MY GOD. How did he take it to five sets? How did he even get to the final? Now I see that double fault that gave Nadal those two break points in the final game in a completely new light and it fucking BREAKS MY HEART to know that he didn't lose because of Nadal like everyone thought, myself included, but that he lost because of his back.

WHY HASN'T HIS BACK RECOVERED FROM LAST NOVEMBER/DECEMBER UNTIL NOW? WHY IS THIS HAPPENING TO HIM?

WHY DIDN'T HE SAY ANYTHING ABOUT HIS BACK UNTIL NOW? He could've mentioned it during his post-match press conference. He could've mentioned it a week after the final. But no, he kept quiet and only brought it up a week before he's slated to play Dubai. WHY ROGER WHY. He was quite happy to let everyone think he lost because of the mental block he supposedly has against Nadal (now I actually doubt this!) when in fact it was probably more becuase of his back than anything else (that is, when it comes to what he did wrong as opposed to what Nadal did right to win).

You know, it's just so sad that the only thing that's affecting his play is problems with his health. First he loses his #1 because of mononucleosis, then he loses the Masters Cup because of his back, and now apparently he also lost his #14 Slam because of his back. To be honest, when I saw him bending down during one of the AO matches (I think it was the final), the first thing that came to mind was that something was wrong with his back. He did that same movement throughout his entire match with Murray in Shanghai last year - you know, the one he played with a completely fucked up back and almost won? Yes, that one. But I thought I was just being paranoid 'cause he said that he felt healthy and that his back was fine (though I don't remember if it was in so many words) so I thought everything was fine.

BUT EVERYTHING IS NOT FINE. OH MY GOD.

Have I mentioned the worst part? The worst part is Not Knowing. I hate not knowing. I have to know things, to be kept in the loop, to know exactly what's going on. This news article he posted on his website? Sorry, that's not enough. I want to know more, but I can't, and that drives me crazy.

I have zero mood to read my Nation Building stuff anymore. I don't care about that stupid 10% test. Anyway, the test may be stupid but I sure as hell am not and I'm sure I can write something decent with my eyes closed so WHATEVER.

Poor Roger. Poor, poor Roger. I feel so bad for him. *hugs Roger tight* =(

before sunrise // before sunset


Previously:
- - Tuesday, Aug. 29, 2017
I'm moving. - Sunday, Jul. 11, 2010
In all honesty - Tuesday, Jul. 06, 2010
What I want for my birthday... - Sunday, Jul. 04, 2010
On Roger's behalf. - Friday, Jul. 02, 2010