American Idol 8-12.
written: 1:40 a.m. on Thursday, Feb. 19, 2009

American Idol Season 8 has finally properly started, i.e. people are actually doing actual singing - or rather, trying to do actual singing.

I have three main things to say:

1. Danny Gokey annoys the shit out of me.

Sorry Chloe, I know you like him, and I liked him too, and I really liked his voice...but there was something that bugged me about him which I couldn't put my finger on until his performance. If every performance of his is going to be some pseudo church worship session, I really hope he'd get off my TV ASAP. I don't know how he turned Mariah Carey's Hero into a worship song - but he did. It was the whole vibe, that supra-inspirational mixed with worship-y vibe that I really couldn't stand.

Also, this may sound mean, but I don't bloody understand why he talks ad nauseum about his late wife. My heart goes out to him for his loss and I think it's wonderful he's moving forward with his life like that, but he's talked about it so much that it's fast becoming distasteful. I hate to make comparisons (actually, I don't) but I can't help but think of David and how no one knew about his brother until he sang Always Be My Baby - and that was like, what, Week 7? I hate contestants that won't stop harping about their sob stories in an attempt, conscious or otherwise, to get sympathy votes. Nothing annoys me more than that and after following 5 full seasons of American Idol, I feel like I've heard all the sob stories and am actually, oh my god, immune to them, and therefore I don't care. Just sing and do nothing but sing.

Back to Danny. I really, really like his voice, and I loved his rendition of Kiss From a Rose (one of my all-time favourite songs. Absolutely LOVE it) which I remember Chris Sligh singing really well in his audition in Season 6 (then he turned all weird and egoistic and shitty). Danny sang it better. Too bad he had to turn on the church musical director thing. And to be honest, his performance of Hero was good, but not great. Nothing to stand up and crow and dance over. Once again, Simon was the voice of reason. I don't know how he does it, but I can probably count on one hand all the instances in which I disagreed with him over 5 seasons of American Idol. I want to marry him and I still LOVE his hot accent.

2. ANOOP DESAI!

Since he's 21 (22 this year?) we're in the same generation and he said Monica's Angel of Mine was one of the first R&B songs he heard on the radio or something like that, and I was all, "OMG, me too!" Not that it was one of the first (I think he said it was the first actually) but I totally heard it on the radio too, back in 1998 or 1999 when I still deigned to listen to the radio because I had bad taste in music.

Great throw-back to the 90's! And I think he sang it really well - very soothing, gorgeous voice. Before I started watching videos of David's live performance, Anoop's Angel of Mine was stuck in my head. It's once again stuck in my head after I YouTubed it because I HAD to listen to it again.

I love his voice! I hope he goes through tomorrow without going through the whatever wildcard shit. DialIdol's predicting Danny, Michael Sarver and Alexis Grace to go through. OMG ANOOP MUST MAKE IT OR I'LL STOP WATCHING THIS DUMB ASS SHOW! He's the only one I like so far!

3. Most importantly: I MISS DAVID COOK.

I think that says it all. Apart from Anoop, everyone else was just lacklustre. People with nice voices were boring; people with stage presence couldn't sing. David didn't exactly have shimmering stage presence when he sang Happy Together, but that was pre-makeover and he was adjusting to a smaller stage, and most importantly, his voice slayed me.

David's the ultimate. I half-wish he's back on the show or that I could watch him all over again with a blank slate, both of which are impossible, so I'll just make do with my pleasant memories of him on this show. No one can ever compare to him and if I didn't need something to entertain myself with, I wouldn't even watch American Idol.

4. Random thoughts:

I was really disappointed with Michael Sarver's performance. I was blown away by his whatever sing-off during the chair episode and loved his voice and the emotional connection he had with the song, whatever that song was. Today I was blown away by how disconnected with Gavin DeGraw's "I Don't Wanna Be" he was, as well as how awkward he looked trying to move to the beat and shit. I mean, props for trying, but it was just really awkward to watch and I couldn't wait for it to end. The ironic thing is, my mom said he was boring during the Hollywood rounds while I thought he was perfectly fine; today he tried to break out of his nice, gentle, harmless persona and went for something upbeat and it was just plain awful.

I think I'm probably obliged to say something about him being some oil rig roughneck or whatever but honestly, I don't really care, so whatever.

Stevie Wright and Casey Carlson were by far the worst. I can't decide who sucked more but it doesn't matter; they were both terrible. Casey looked like she was ready to take off her clothes every other 10 seconds and it creeped me out, and Stevie just had no clue what she was doing. Absolutely awful.

And our dear Tatiana. Oh my god, I actually thought she was really good, especially towards the end. But boy, she's bloody creepy. I have no idea what's up with her and I don't really want to find out and I don't want her to go through but I think she might - and that scares me to death.

Simon (a.k.a. the only judge that exists to me) loved Alexis Grace. I thought she looked like Kristen Bell as Season 1 Veronica Mars so for that I liked her but I didn't think her performance brought down the roof or anything. Still, she was probably the only female deserving of advancing so I hope it's her.

*

OKAY I HAVE 9 A.M. CLASS AND MY GILLES SIMON/GRIGOR DIMITROV MATCH HAS FINISHED DOWNLOADING SO I'M GOING TO BED.

before sunrise // before sunset


Previously:
- - Tuesday, Aug. 29, 2017
I'm moving. - Sunday, Jul. 11, 2010
In all honesty - Tuesday, Jul. 06, 2010
What I want for my birthday... - Sunday, Jul. 04, 2010
On Roger's behalf. - Friday, Jul. 02, 2010