(Memphis 2009 final) Roddick def. Stepanek 7-5, 7-5
written: 7:57 p.m. on Monday, Feb. 23, 2009

YAY ANDY!!


The match was a bit dull compared to the Hewitt one and Radek Stepanek continues to annoy me with his irritating multiple fist-pumping and annoying celebratory antics. But still, I totally loved the way Andy totally owned Stepanek with his backhand passing shots towards the end of the match. Stepanek is very much a net player (I think he won the majority of his winners at the net), and the danger inherent in playing at the net is that, if you're not careful, if your volley isn't executed to perfection, you risk getting passed by your opponent, i.e. when your opponent hits a shot that, well, that passes by you so fast that you can't even get your racquet anywhere near it. (Side note: I hate to say this, but every single time - EVERY SINGLE TIME - Roger makes a little foray to the net, my first thought is, "Omg Roger, please don't get passed!" Sometimes he does. The majority of the time he doesn't, because he's on like that.)

Andy executed some FANTASTIC passing shots off the backhand towards the end of the match that made me love him even more. He only served 8 aces, one more than Stepanek, and I think it was those passing shots that eventually won him the match. I'm so happy for him! He totally deserved this win.

Also, I found myself inexplicably (or not) attracted to Andy's alpha-maleness. His victory growls/roars were hot, as were his victorious raised fist. And I still find his puffed-out cheeks really adorable, which I found out today is just the way he breathes when playing. IT'S DAMN CUTE! I love him. He's apparently getting married in April or something so yay for him!

*

I wanted to write about something else but I have neither the time nor the mood for it. Maybe some other time, if ever.

Oh wait, have I ever mentioned that I love Cadbury's tiramisu milk chocolate? It's yummy to the max.

before sunrise // before sunset


Previously:
- - Tuesday, Aug. 29, 2017
I'm moving. - Sunday, Jul. 11, 2010
In all honesty - Tuesday, Jul. 06, 2010
What I want for my birthday... - Sunday, Jul. 04, 2010
On Roger's behalf. - Friday, Jul. 02, 2010