(Dubai Open 2009) Simon vs Djokovic
written: 7:53 p.m. on Friday, Feb. 27, 2009

Even if I didn't have an exam tomorrow, I don't think I'd continue watching the French Boyfriend (Gilles Simon)/Novak Djokovic match. The first set was an absolute joy to watch when Gilles broke at 3-2 for a 4-2 lead. It was also utterly hilarious watching Djokovic miss many, many easy shots - the infamous missed drop shots (hasn't really changed from Shanghai 2008, I see), smashing an easy putaway right into the let cord, and the absolute best? Smashing yet another easy putaway into his own court.

Bravo, Djoker.

But the frustrating thing was, Djokovic repeated that amazing feat of smashing into his own court in the second set and was down 0-30 on his own serve. Gilles couldn't capitalise. Then the same thing happened in Djokovic's next service game: down 0-30, Gilles looked like he had a chance, but rushed an approach forehand and hit it long. In the end Djokovic held serve.

Not only did he hold serve - he broke Gilles at 6-5 and took the second set 7-5.

I'm so annoyed. I love Gilles and all but it's a serious test of my patience to watch him play. I don't believe I've ever watched anyone as exasperatingly passive as him. The word 'laconic' instantly comes to mind to describe his style and I honestly think he hits the ball with the least amount of strength out of all the players that I've watched. Sure it's great to be defensive and epitomise the human backboarder as much as he does; it drives his opponents crazy and everything. But when it gets to a point when he's losing rallies that he should be winning, you have to wonder: MY DEAR GILLES. WHAT THE FUCK ARE YOU DOING.

And it's not like he's too skinny to hit big. Once he unleashed this massive forehand that Djokovic didn't even attempt to go after - but it was just that one time. And seriously, I don't get how he broke the top 10 with his ultra-defensive style of play. He's not like Andy Murray who can switch up the pace in an instant and hit a winner from nowhere...no, wait, let me revise that: Gilles can do that, but he doesn't do it as often as Murray does.

Gilles is a lot like a mosquito: he just doesn't go away. I still think he plays his best against Nadal (I don't know about Roger; I've erased those losses from my mind. Because, you know, Roger lost) but that's because Nadal forces him to work hard when other opponents get lured into Gilles' backboard and plays at his pace. And to be perfectly honest, I'm not a fan of the defensive backboard baseline game; I like players who can play from all corners of the court, hit a winner from the baseline and at the net, the way Roger does.

But oh, Gilles Simon, he's so pretty. Not only is he pretty, I begrudgingly admire his amazing patience. You don't get away playing so defensively and making the top 10 if you haven't got a lot of patience in your reserves.

I really want Gilles to win this. I want him to win more than I want Djokovic to lose (I think it'd be HILARIOUS if Djoker doesn't win this, considering the #1, #2 and #4 are all not playing, not to mention the defending champion, Andy Roddick, who withdrew in protest of the Shahar Peer denied visa). I want Gilles to win Dubai, period. How often do I follow a tournament in which Gilles is playing and Roger is not? The only time I'd want a player not named Roger Federer to win a tournament is when Roger Federer isn't playing, and I think it'd be GREAT for Gilles to win here.

Oh my god, Gilles got the break in the third set! OH MY GOD PLEASE WIN PLEASE!

**

ETA:

Crap. Gilles just dropped his serve. I'm not watching this abomination anymore. I hate Djokovic's cockiness!

**

ETA #2:

I showered, checked RF.com, and found out Djokovic won 7-5.

FUCCCKKKKK.

Whoever wins the next semi is going to lose tomorrow. I guess Djokovic's got this in the bag; I can't see either David Ferrer or Richard Gasquet beating him.

FUCCCCCCKKKKKKK.

Poor Gilles. If only he hadn't given back that break. If only upped his first serve more. ARGH. How he managed to lose to a Djokovic who's playing like crap is BEYOND me.

before sunrise // before sunset


Previously:
- - Tuesday, Aug. 29, 2017
I'm moving. - Sunday, Jul. 11, 2010
In all honesty - Tuesday, Jul. 06, 2010
What I want for my birthday... - Sunday, Jul. 04, 2010
On Roger's behalf. - Friday, Jul. 02, 2010