(Indian Wells 2009) Doubles and Draw
written: 6:57 p.m. on Wednesday, Mar. 11, 2009

(It's officially called BNP Paribas Open, Indian Wells, but it's too long and 'Indian Wells' sounds nicer than 'BNP Paribas Open', not to mention BNP Paribas is sponsoring the event for the first time this year so Indian Wells makes more sense.)

Roger is playing doubles in Indian Wells! Yay, this means I get to see him twice as often as I would if he were only playing singles! He's partnering Yves Allegro and not Stan; I wonder why, but whatever. I'm guessing this is an effort to get some match practice after the six-week absence from the circuit which is a good thing, because the draw is out and Roger's side isn't exactly a walk in the park. He gets Murray instead of Djokovic; Andy Roddick is in Nadal's half of the draw; and even if Murray loses before the semi, Roger risks facing another backboarder in the form of my French boyfriend, Gilles Simon. If Gilles doesn't advance to the semi, Jo-Wilfried Tsonga might (depending on who takes out each other in the quarters if memory serves me right). I think, at this juncture, I'd take Tsonga over Gilles for the simple reason that Roger's head-to-head with JW stands at 1-0, while his record with Gilles is something like 1-2? I can't remember exactly but he lost to Gilles twice last year. Which isn't good.

In any case, here's hoping Nadal goes all the way to the final. I want Roger to play Nadal as often as possible before another Grand Slam final. He has to beat him at some point, and I think Indian Wells is a nice place to start.

Of course, having said that, I wouldn't mind terribly if Nalby takes out Nadal before the final either. Hopefully - HOPEFULLY - Nalby is in good shape; I'd love to see him do well.

Ultimately, only one scenario should happen, and that's Roger winning his first Masters Series title since 2007. I'm so excited! It's been way too long without him. Just way too long.

Lastly, I'd love to talk about my personal life, except I haven't got much of one.

Oh yeah, how could I have forgotten? I weighed myself at the airport yesterday when sending my uncle off and...

OMFG I HAVE HIT MY IDEAL WEIGHT OF 48 KG.

I fucking rule the world. HA HA HA HA HA. I didn't even do anything, seriously. I've been eating chips and chocolates like mad recently and haven't paid too much attention to my weight/figure/diet/food intake. I have no idea how I shed 2 kilos, BUT I DID. I suspect it's because of all the tennis I've been trying to play. YAY! I LOVE TENNIS. This is what happens when you fall in love with an athlete who plays a sport that's relatively accessible, especially when said athlete makes it look so easy: YOU FREAKING LOSE WEIGHT.

THANK YOU ROGER FROM THE BOTTOM OF MY HEART!

before sunrise // before sunset


Previously:
- - Tuesday, Aug. 29, 2017
I'm moving. - Sunday, Jul. 11, 2010
In all honesty - Tuesday, Jul. 06, 2010
What I want for my birthday... - Sunday, Jul. 04, 2010
On Roger's behalf. - Friday, Jul. 02, 2010