I hate technology.
written: 11:06 p.m. on Monday, Mar. 16, 2009

I am so tired. I slept at 5 after finishing the essay save for the conclusion and woke up at 9 to write the conclusion and read the essay through.

The worst part was, when I tried uploading my answer at 9.58 a.m., IVLE refused to respond. I tried again at 10 a.m. and the same thing happened. When it was finally uploaded, it was time-stamped 10.03 a.m.

WHAT THE FUCK. I emailed someone in the school admin and she had the cheek to tell me not to upload at the last minute.

WHAT THE FUCK.

Look. It wasn't as if I was late in uploading. I was two minutes before the deadline which was still on time. Even more pertinently, it is my right to upload whenever I want if the deadline is 10 AM. Don't sit around and tell me I should have uploaded earlier when I can do so at anytime before 10 AM on Monday, 16 March. Sure, it's always better to be safe and upload earlier, and you know what? I really would have done that if I could have done that. I would have uploaded at 5 AM if I'd finished it. I didn't, and I should have.

But I still finished it before 10. It's not my fault that IVLE is shit, unresponsive, horribly maintained. I upheld my end of the bargain; the most the school can do is to ensure that the mode through which I am supposed submit my assignment actually works. I experienced the same problem while uploading my Intelligence exam - that says a lot about the system, I'm sure.

In my four years of law school, I have NEVER submitted my answers/papers late. Never. And I've always submitted a few minutes before the deadline because it's just what I do. So now all of a sudden IVLE fucks up and I'm supposed to guard against that when my method has been working for four years? Fuck that shit. Fuck this shit. Fuck you. If I get penalised for the three minute delay that WASN'T EVEN MY FAULT IN THE FIRST PLACE, I'm going to be so pissed, I wouldn't even have the words for it.

I was going to respond to that email a more polite version of this entry but I was too tired. I still am quite tired. I slept from 1 to 5 this afternoon after watching the Andy Roddick match and after monitoring the live scores of Roger's doubles match, and I'm still so tired. Bleah.

Anyway, I'm actually quite pleased with my paper which means I'm going to do damn badly for it. I'm never pleased with the things I produce and usually that works out for the best. So yeah, I should stop being pleased, but I really do think it was quite decently done, all things (i.e. my laziness and my insane procrastination) considered. I took a huge risk at the end with some ultra un-academic writing but it was only a page and a half so whatever.

Lastly, tennis: Andy's match was fucking hilarious. His opponent was some ass who provoked Andy so much that when he had match point in the second set tie-break, he yelled out loud for the first time the entire match, and apparently yelled, "Fuck you!" I didn't hear it and I read somewhere from someone who was there that he mouthed it, but whatever it was, that was some shitty behaviour, but boy, is it hilarious or what. Daniel Koellerer, his opponent, apparently has a reputation for bad behaviour on court. He seemed pretty tame today except for all the weird screaming. At one point I thought Andy double-faulted and was confused when the score went 30-30 to 40-30 but it was just Koellerer randomly yelling when returning Andy's second serve.

Dude is nuts, I swear. He was also apparently trash-talking Andy whenever they were near each other at the net. I was too tired to even notice but I wouldn't be surprised if that was the case. Koellerer once got punched by one of his opponents which...wow, seriously? Go play football or something where you can punch and get punched and provoke your opponents with poor sportsmanship all you want; just stay away from tennis.

Poor Andy had to put up with some crazy 40+-stroke rallies with lots and lots of backhand slice. He just didn't give a shit about Koellerer, and for good reason: Dude's a joke. An unstable, crazy joke. I'd pay fucking good money to watch him play Djokovic though; I think I might seriously, SERIOUSLY die laughing.

Lastly, Roger lost the doubles match like I expected, but he lost it 2-6, 0-6. Oh my. Apparently his volleying was shit which worries me. I'm still trying to decide if I should wake up at 5-something to watch the match Karlovic match but if I do, it means another night of no proper sleep. Three in a row must be bad. SIGH.

before sunrise // before sunset


Previously:
- - Tuesday, Aug. 29, 2017
I'm moving. - Sunday, Jul. 11, 2010
In all honesty - Tuesday, Jul. 06, 2010
What I want for my birthday... - Sunday, Jul. 04, 2010
On Roger's behalf. - Friday, Jul. 02, 2010