(Monte-Carlo 2009) BEST FUCKING MATCH OF THE TOURNAMENT.
written: 10:55 p.m. on Friday, Apr. 17, 2009

ARGH WHY DID ANDREAS BECK DOUBLE-FAULT ON MATCH POINT.

IT WAS SUCH A GOOD MATCH WITH WAWRINKA THAT I WANTED TO WATCH MORE. MAYBE, YOU KNOW, A THIRD SET, CONSIDERING I DIDN'T WATCH HALF THE MATCH 'CAUSE I THOUGHT I WANTED TO 'STUDY'. WHAT A JOKE.

That Beck/Wawrinka match was single-handedly the best match I've watched of this tournament. They were both hitting winners like crazy instead of waiting for the other guy to hit the ball out. It was SO good. Amazing that Stan had more winners than unforced errors; it's usually the other way round for clay (another reason I don't like the dirt).

I can't believe Beck is a qualifier! What kind of a qualifier plays that kind of crazy tennis? But then, his inexperience and inconsistency (sending a couple of wild forehands WAY wide - at least he tries, unlike oh, I don't know, Murray) kind of explain it. BUT STILL! He was surprisingly really really good! Totally understand now how he beat Kiefer and some other Spaniard (Robredo or Almagro - they kind of merge into one for me). HE BEAT A SPANIARD! The Spanish dudes practically OWN clay.

And I was shocked to discover that Beck is also 1986. He looks 17!

Anyway, even though I didn't get my tie-break/third set, I'm so glad Stan won. I hope he beats Djokovic next and faces Nadal in the final where he'd avenge his Miami loss - AND DENY NADAL HIS FIFTH STRAIGHT MONTE-CARLO TITLE. BWAHAHAHA. Killing two birds with one stone - wait, make that three, winning his first Masters 1000 series title. Wouldn't that be great?

GO STAN GO! Make Roger proud!

before sunrise // before sunset


Previously:
- - Tuesday, Aug. 29, 2017
I'm moving. - Sunday, Jul. 11, 2010
In all honesty - Tuesday, Jul. 06, 2010
What I want for my birthday... - Sunday, Jul. 04, 2010
On Roger's behalf. - Friday, Jul. 02, 2010