(Madrid 2009) ROGER FEDERER. DEFEATS. RAFAEL NADAL. 6-4, 6-4.
written: 12:20 a.m. on Monday, May. 18, 2009

OH. MY. GOD.

Roger beat Nadal. On clay. For the second time in 11 meetings.

Roger beat Nadal. Period.

Roger didn't lose his concentration. Didn't give away a set and a break lead the way he did against Djoke and Murray in the earlier semi-finals. He held on strong to his lead, he didn't go on a walkabout, he didn't let Nadal and his home crowd intimidate him, he held on firmly - AND HE WON.

HE WON.

I honestly think I'm in a state of shock right now. I screamed SO loudly after he won and I almost couldn't stop screaming, and this is just AMAZING AMAZING AMAZING AMAZING.

Will totally do a Roger Picspam tomorrow or whenever, when I have time, because OMG ROGER WON.

It's precisely for sweet moments like this that I keep going bcak to the starting line and hoping for good things for him no matter how many times he suffers defeats. And oh my god, I can't write a coherent entry right now, my thoughts are everywhere and my grammar is completely gone because I'm so damn happy, it's like I've won something myself, and he played SO FREAKING WELL. I can't believe how well he played. I can't believe he didn't let his misfired shots in the first few games on Nadal's serve get to him. Everytime he misses the mark, I kept telling him mentally, "Please hold it together Roger. Please hold it together Roger. PLEASE HOLD IT TOGETHER ROGER." Serving for the championship at 6-4, 5-4, and I kept thinking, "PLEASE HOLD IT TOGETHER ROGER." Down 15-30, then 15-40, and he did so well to stay in that rally and staved off the first break point. He did so damn well in this match, period.

He did so damn well, and I'm so proud of him, and I'm so happy for him. I'm so happy that he's finally won his first title of the season, that he's finally won his first Masters series since 2007, that he's finally beaten Nadal after what feels like forever, that he looks like Vintage Federer again. His superior all-court tennis was blistering today - it was so damn good, and I was so damn nervous and sick to my stomach that I couldn't properly enjoy it, but now that it's over, I can't believe some of the shots he made. Second serve ace at 5-4, deuce, to give himself championship point; a defensive backhand pass that left Nadal staring helplessly after it at the net; some random-looking waving of the backhand that produced a winner; amazing inside-out forehand down-the-line winner that he executed with such ease, as if he could do it with his eyes closed; amazing first serves, amazing return of Nadal's serves, amazing return-of-serve winner on Nadal's second serve in the opening game.

HE IS SO AMAZING.

I AM SO PROUD OF HIM.

I DON'T EVEN KNOW WHAT TO SAY ANYMORE.

BE PREPARED FOR THE MOST EPIC PICSPAM THAT I HAVE EVER UNLEASHED ON THIS BLOG.

OFF TO START SAVING PICTURES FROM THE MATCH LIKE WHOA NOW.

LASTLY, THOUGH: THE KING IS FUCKING BACK!

(PS. Does this mean Kris Allen is going to win American Idol? First day of the week = Roger wins Madrid = Kris winning American Idol ahahahaha.)

Oh, and when I found out Dinara won, I was wondering if it meant Roger would win too. Since, you know, they both lost the Australian Open final. And what do you know, I was right! HAHAHA. So happy to see Roger AND Dinara holding the winner's plates together and posing for the ceremonial picture!

Oh, and one more thing - I. CAN. FINALLY. READ. SPORTS. NEWS. I haven't read any sports news since October last year. I CAN FINALLY READ SPORTS NEWS. HAHAHAHAHAHAH.

I LOVE YOU ROGER!

before sunrise // before sunset


Previously:
- - Tuesday, Aug. 29, 2017
I'm moving. - Sunday, Jul. 11, 2010
In all honesty - Tuesday, Jul. 06, 2010
What I want for my birthday... - Sunday, Jul. 04, 2010
On Roger's behalf. - Friday, Jul. 02, 2010