One more step towards the end of law school.
written: 5:42 p.m. on Friday, May. 29, 2009

Back from tennis, in dire need of a shower, but not before I say this:

NATION. FUCKING. BUILDING. WAS. A. FUCKING. WASTE. OF. MY. FUCKING. TIME.

Not only did I thoroughly NOT enjoy the damn thing, guess what I fucking got for it?

B+.

B FUCKING PLUS.

You have GOT to be kidding me. What a bloody waste of my time. WHAT A WASTE OF MY TIME. I can't believe this. WHY DID I TAKE IT. WHY WHY WHY. WHAT AN UTTER WASTE OF FOUR CREDITS, DOING SOMETHING "FOR THE GRADE" WHEN I COULD'VE DONE SOMETHING ELSE THAT I ACTUALLY WOULD'VE ENJOYED, AND BY EXTENSTION, HAD AN ACTUAL SHOT AT A BETTER GRADE.

DAMN THIS STUPID MODULE TO HELL.

I CAN'T BELIEVE I LOST TO THE WHATEVER NON-LAW STUDENTS.

Oops, was that snobbish? Don't care right now, sorry.

Dammit.

DAMMIT.

Okay, I did really well this last semester, and because I post my grades every semester, I'm going to post them once again, and for the final time:

Nation-Building in Singapore: B+
Comparative Constitutional Law: B+
International Criminal Law: A
Human Rights in Asia: A+
Land, Law & Development in Asia: B+
Intelligence Law: A
Examination Status: 2nd Class Honours (Upper)

To be perfectly honest, and pretending Nation Building doesn't exist, I'm really disappointed in the Comparative Constitutional Law grade. I said in one of the entries that I was quite pleased with my paper - and I was. Not so much anymore because it didn't translate to a grade better than a B+, but really, when I realised the B+ was for CCL (I checked via SMS as I had tennis at 3, and before I left I memorised all the module codes), it kind of sapped all the euphoria out of me. It really did. And I also just realised the last time I did really well for a paper was...Emergencies and Legal Theory. All subsequent papers have not given me more than a B+.

That is really sad. I know I'm just nit-picking, but damn. DAMN. Not getting the ultimate grade in something you thought was in your wheelhouse really stings. To use an A Level analogy, it'd be like getting a B or a C for Literature and getting an A for Maths: I'd feel pleased with the A for Maths, but it wouldn't be enough to overcome the disappointment I'd feel over the non-A for Literature. I'm totally okay and don't-really-care about the B+ for Land, Law etc because I didn't put serious thought into that paper and I wasn't expecting anything. But I put a hell lot of thought into my CCL paper. And I was hoping for a lot.

SIGH.

Quite happy with A+ for HRA though, although again, no idea how that happened, and this may sound repugnant but I honestly cannot feel real pride in good results if I didn't feel like I worked particularly hard for it. My final year grades have shattered all my low expectations, defied my honest (and I mean, HONEST) belief that I was stuck with a 2-2...and yet, it still doesn't beat the immense joy and pride I felt when I received my A Level results. I worked my ass off for those straight A's (let's pretend I never took Mathematics. Damn Maths), and I know how bloody much effort I put in, and I've not studied anywhere close to that level of intensity since then. Of course I'm thrilled that I managed to pull out a 2-1 in the end, but...hmm. I don't know.

Going for dinner with the family now. It's my brother's birthday. Can't wait to eat the bread and butter pudding!

before sunrise // before sunset


Previously:
- - Tuesday, Aug. 29, 2017
I'm moving. - Sunday, Jul. 11, 2010
In all honesty - Tuesday, Jul. 06, 2010
What I want for my birthday... - Sunday, Jul. 04, 2010
On Roger's behalf. - Friday, Jul. 02, 2010