(Roland Garros 2009) Federer d. Monfils 7-6(6), 6-2, 6-4
written: 12:22 a.m. on Thursday, Jun. 04, 2009

HE FINALLY WINS IN STRAIGHT SETS AGAIN.

AND TO THINK I WAS WORRIED HE MIGHT LOSE.

HA HA HA HA HA HA HA.

I LOVE ROGER SOOO MUCH.

The match was quite boring though. Even if I wasn't impatiently waiting for him to win so that I could shower (haven't done yet) and sleep, it would still have been boring. Monfils was boring. I was surprised; I thought he was a more interesting player than that. I guess he couldn't manifest his prowess against the Great Federer.

I had to laugh when Monfils tried a drop shot return on Roger's second serve, just to fail miserably. This came after two of Roger's drop shot returns on Monfils' second serves landed as clear winners (I still covet his drop shots like whoa). I was also quite partial to Monfils at first, but after this match...nah. He annoyed me with his annoying chest-thumping and getting overly worked up when he won one measly point, just to lose the next two and drop serve. Whatever, really. Whatever. Just chill and get on with it; stop wasting my time with your stupid celebratory antics.

This French Open is extremely promising for Roger. He's likely to face Del Potro in the SF, which is yet again a free ticket to the final. Potty's still playing Robredo - won the first set, on serve in the second the last I watched, and I'm so rooting for him to win. Actually Roger's gonna thrash his SF opponent either way, but it's fun watching Roger play Del Pot. He turns a competitive match into an exhibition match with his variety of shots: slices, drop shots, massive topspin forehands, down-the-line backhand winners...awesome stuff.

Also totally awesome? Murray totally lost the QF to Fernando Gonzalez. I totally picked Murray to lose the QF in my ATP Challenge draw and I was totally right - and because I was totally right, I'm out of the 10,000's and am now at 4000-something! OMG! My best finish is still Madrid - picking Roger to win no matter what, and he did. YAY.

Totally LOL at the stupid British press and idiotic sports journalists who don't know shit about tennis that talked ad nauseum about Murray 1) winning the French; and/or 2) becoming #1. Sorry but what? Andy Murray winning the French Open? Yeah and I'm totally getting first class honours. And whoever said he's gonna become #1 clearly cannot count. He has to reach #2 first before he gets to #1 - and that's simply not going to happen.

Unless, of course, Roger and Nadal switch places. Not unlikely! Nadal failed to defend RG points, Roger will gain points if he wins RG, and he won points in Madrid. YAY. Roger rocks.

Okay I have to sleep. Damn tired. Wait I have to shower first. I refuse to shower if I know I'm gonna be in the living room watching TV, 'cause I'd just sweat like mad and become sticky all over again. The weather is a real piece of shit.

before sunrise // before sunset


Previously:
- - Tuesday, Aug. 29, 2017
I'm moving. - Sunday, Jul. 11, 2010
In all honesty - Tuesday, Jul. 06, 2010
What I want for my birthday... - Sunday, Jul. 04, 2010
On Roger's behalf. - Friday, Jul. 02, 2010