The extent of one's obsession.
written: 10:50 p.m. on Thursday, Aug. 13, 2009

Totally didn't understand a single word that was uttered in Commercial Practice class. The only words I understood came out of my own mouth: "Um, I'm not sure."

Business trust/REITs (don't even know what it stands for)/companies/corporate vs. personal taxes...um, sorry, WHAT? Don't understand. Don't care. Don't like. Don't want.

What a nightmare. The best part was that I was so disinterested, I thought playing Evony for hours was more interesting than preparing for the tutorial - and so I didn't prepare. At all. AT. ALL. When the tutor asked me another question about what a banker would be interested in protecting if he set up a branch in a foreign company, I started to read out from the manual...until I realised it said something like, "Banks set up branches in foreign countries because all banks do that."

WHAT THE FUCK KIND OF UNHELPFUL STATEMENT IS THAT. WHY DO ALL BANKS DO THAT? BOOK DOESN'T SAY. There was something in parenthesis about consolidating assets, so I went, "Um, they're interested in consolidating their assets?"

No idea what that even meant. Tutor had no idea what I meant too. Bleah, whatever.

I was THRILLED when the tutorial ended. I totally understand the concept about how law and legal practice cannot be pigeon-holed; litigators will need to deal with corporate issues (e.g. whether company was incorporated correctly. Or something. I don't know) and vice versa. But DAMMIT, fucked if I couldn't care any less about companies, business vehicles, businesses. Not interested. At all. AT ALL. And I'm really bad at things that I have zero interest in. I got a C for Company Law, and if I marked my own paper, I would've given myself an F. My level of knowledge is around an F in any case.

Have I mentioned I was thrilled when the tutorial ended? It also meant it was time for dinner with my favourite law people! Mag, Rui, Jean and Ven. Rui drove us to Portsdown Road, the place she's been raving about since forever, and she was so right in her assessment. It's SO nice and secluded and quiet and romantic. The restaurant is ran by the same people who run the Carmela I dunno what it's called Italian place at Greenwood, but I'd much rather drive to Portsdown and risk getting lost (very likely) because the place is seriously super nice.

Anyway, dinner was absolutely awesome despite me almost suffocating and melting in the humidity. It's always entertaining when we get together and start talking rubbish - Mag and her lame-ass jokes, Rui and the adorable funny sounds that come out of her mouth and the adorable facial expressions she makes, Ven and her self-deprecating remarks, and Jean and her occasional lapses into random weird moments (always very funny). When Mag and Rui got the whole table to snort like pigs, with Ven nabbing top prize for Best Snort, that was when it was clear everyone was a bit off her rocker.

But it was FUN FUN FUN. A nice way to end an otherwise uneventful Thursday with one hour spent on irritating things before dinner. Yay. I love my friends.

*

Just saw this on the ontd_tennis LJ community and nabbing the ones that 100% apply to me:


You know you're obsessed with tennis when...

- you can say 'Let's Go' in at least four languages

- you rearrange your life around Grand Slams

- you know what GOAT stands for

- you stay up late during the grand slams, no matter what time zone you're in (except for me, I stay up late for every single fucking tournament Roger Federer participates in, even if they're just some ATP 500 ones)

- you are as deeply affected by a loss as the player is

- you can pronounce all sorts of names in languages other than your own, and get really irritated when other people can't.

- you make up excuses with your friends who want to go to the cinema because omg it's when there's the match X on the other side of the world

- you scream "out" before the lines people

-You can recognize an umpire by the sound of his voice (Seriously. I can. SERIOUSLY.)

-you got really excited/actually cared/knew what the hell people were babbling on about when it was rumored that Fed might start working with Darren Cahill.

- You fistpump when you celebrate things

For me, this is perhaps more applicable. The fact that I'm coming up with this list now means I have nothing better to do. YESSSS.


You know you're obsessed with Roger Federer when...

1. You give way to FedEx trucks (I swear I really give way to FedEx trucks)

2. You can memorise his entire ATP schedule

3. You arrange your social life around his matches

4. You own a Nike RF cap

5. You enlisted the help of your friend in New York to buy you the Roger Federer beanie baby bear

6. You spent good money going to Kuala Lumpur to watch him play in an exhibition match, in the middle of your exams

7. You stay up all night watching his unexciting first-round matches against lousy opponents

8. You know exactly what tournament an action shot was taken from, purely by the outfit he's wearing

9. RogerFederer.com is one of your Firefox shortcuts

10. You have posted on his Facebook page, thinking he'd read your message out of the 10,000++++ other messages he gets

11. It's his birthday and you tell your boyfriend, "It's Roger's birthday!" As if your boyfriend gives a shit (he doesn't).

12. You call him Roger as if he's your friend

13. You cried when he lost the 2009 Australian Open final and was unhappy for three days

14. Your friends know to send you a 'cheer up' SMS when he loses a huge match, like the 2009 Australian Open final

15. You know who he defeated in every single Grand Slam he's won. You know the scores for half of those victories

16. When you see the word "Roger", you think "Roger Federer"

17. When you meet someone named Roger, you think, "He does not deserve to be named Roger. Only Roger Federer can be named Roger." The illogical nature of your train of thought is explained away by, "Roger is the GOAT!"

18. You called your fake law firm GOAT & Genius LLP

19. Your fake law firm is fakely located at 15 Switzerland Lane, Federer Express, Singapore 080881

20. You record ALL his matches and burn ALL of them onto DVDs. Even the boring ones versus Ivo Karlovic.

Yeah, I think I need therapy too.

before sunrise // before sunset


Previously:
- - Tuesday, Aug. 29, 2017
I'm moving. - Sunday, Jul. 11, 2010
In all honesty - Tuesday, Jul. 06, 2010
What I want for my birthday... - Sunday, Jul. 04, 2010
On Roger's behalf. - Friday, Jul. 02, 2010