(Cincy Masters 2009) Federer d. Murray 6-2, 7-6
written: 6:27 p.m. on Sunday, Aug. 23, 2009

ROGER IS THROUGH TO THE FINAL IN CINCY.

TOTALLY KICKED MURRAY'S ASS LAST NIGHT. 6-2, 7-6.

HA HA HA HA HA. HUGE "FUCK YOU" TO THE IDIOTS WHO THOUGHT MURRAY HAD ROGER'S NUMBER. SORRY, I SAID ALL ALONG THAT THE ONLY PERSON BEATING HIM OUT THERE IS HE HIMSELF (OKAY EXCEPT MAYBE AGAINST NADAL), AND THAT WHEN HE GETS HIS GAME BACK HE'D DEFINITELY KICK MURRAY'S STUPID COUNTER-PUNCHING ASS. AND I WAS RIGHT.

BWAHAHAHAHAHA.

I had a good feeling he'd win yesterday before the match. During the match, I knew he'd win. No more melt-downs, no more second-setitis, commentators were so wrong when they referred back to Murray's victories over Roger, during which Roger won the first set, then lost the second, and in Indian Wells, inexplicably lost the third. A solid attacking game will always defeat Murray's solid defensive one - Andy proved that in Wimbledon, and Roger proved that yesterday.

YAY. Roger plays Djoke tonight. Djoke beat Nadal 6-1, 6-4, which is quite sad as I wanted Nadal to win to meet Roger in the final, where Roger will take one more step towards reversing their head-to-head by winning the title. Oh well!

TOTALLY HOPING ROGER WINS. Out of the other three top 4, Djoke has been the one that's troubled him least, so yep, I'm expecting him to nab another Masters series title. YAY!

Anyway, Roger played pretty wonderful yesterday. The first serve came back (36% first serves in the first set - LOL) in time, and he didn't face a single break point. Absolutely fantastic. Murray struggled on serve the whole match, and it was actually surprising Roger didn't manage to break at all in the second.

What was hilarious, though, was when Roger had match point on Murray's serve in the tie-break. Murray missed his first serve, and then I was all, "DOUBLE FAULT!" The previous match point, my mom was all, "That's not possible." I told her Murray double-faulted on set point against Julien Benneteau. Upon hearing that, she joined in and started willing Murray to double fault.

Murray's second serve was called out. I laughed my ass off. Roger won the match. YESSSSSSSS.

I'm so happy he's back. BACK BACK BACK. To think it was only earlier this year that so many of us thought he'd never win a match against Murray, that his career was over, that he had mental problems...blah blah blah.

Roger Federer is just. Oh my god. He's not from this planet.

OKAY OFF TO DINNER.

*

ETA at 8.29 p.m.:

From the man himself:

"I know my game's on, and when my game's on, I know I can beat any player in the world."

I COULDN'T AGREE MORE. I shouldn't take this personally, but man, it feels great to be a fan of someone who's so utterly talented, so utterly dominant. This living vicariously thing is quite fun at times like now.

before sunrise // before sunset


Previously:
- - Tuesday, Aug. 29, 2017
I'm moving. - Sunday, Jul. 11, 2010
In all honesty - Tuesday, Jul. 06, 2010
What I want for my birthday... - Sunday, Jul. 04, 2010
On Roger's behalf. - Friday, Jul. 02, 2010