Tennis ramblings
written: 5:14 p.m. on Saturday, Aug. 29, 2009

US Open draw

Roger's possible opponents are quite boring. Apart from Lleyton, Andy and Del Pot, everyone else is rather "been there done that". If I have to watch the third Soderling match of the year, I think I might die. Sure, Soderling has improved, but he's still no match for Rog. And James Blake? Love his backhand, but he'd get demolished by Rog for sure. (He still holds a tiny special spot in my heart though, after seeing him live in KL last year. But he's been playing like shit.)

Roger's first-round opponent is some 18-year-old American wild card who just turned pro like 3 minutes ago, so yeah, it's probably not gonna be worth sacrificing my beauty sleep.

His second-round opponent is some I don't know who. Even if I picked wrongly the other possible opponent is also some I don't know who.

Lleyton better get to the third round where he'd reprise the 2004 US Open final.

After that Roger can demolish Blake. If he plays Tommy Robredo instead...bleahhh. I'd rather watch Blake.

Next comes Soderling or Davydenko (assuming Sam Querrey loses to Sod and Paul-Henri Mathieu loses to Davy. And I hope PHM loses to Davy 'cause he's annoying). Davy's never won a set against Roger. Sod, like I said earlier, is no match for Rog. And I don't particularly care for either of their games. BORING. NEXT.

The SF is possibly either Djoke or ARod. IT BETTER BE AROD. I'm sorry Andy can't have a shot at reaching the finals but I love him and I want to watch my #1 and #2 play. This would be a match I'd totally stay up/wake up early for, duh.

And the final - I PICKED DEL POT. AND DEL POT BETTER COME THROUGH. HE BETTER BEAT ANDY MURRAY IN THE FINAL OR ELSE I WILL BE DAMN PISSED BECAUSE I DON'T WANNA WATCH ANOTHER ROG/ANDY MURRAY USO FINAL. BEEN THERE DONE THAT MUCH? ROGER ALREADY BEAT HIM LAST YEAR. BWAHAHAHA.

I'd totally get behind a Federer/Del Potro final. Seriously. If it goes 5 sets, Del Pot's first serve percentage will decrease as the match goes on, which would be amusing at the very least. More importantly, Del Pot pwns Murray for sure, and I quite enjoy watching him play. Would be interesting to see how he handles Roger's slices, once more, on a hard court - and now, a fast one at that. His Australian Open match against Roger was damn funny - couldn't handle Roger's slices, kept dumping his returns into the net. Would be hilarious if the double bagel happens in New York too (though, yeah, Roger won his first USO 6-0, 7-6, 6-0 - against Lleyton Hewitt. Poor Hewitt) but it's highly unlikely.

Anyway, I'm stoked about this Grand Slam for obvious reasons. When I saw that Maximo Gonzalez wasn't anywhere near Roger's section of the draw, I had to laugh - he played Roger in the first round of last year's USO. No Stepanek this year, no Andreev (still haven't watched that 5-setter), the only possible reprise is...Andy Murray. Oh, and Djoke, if Andy doesn't do his job properly. Damn sick of watching Roger against Djoke at the US Open. I've seen it twice already, thanks; let's try something new. Even if it's Andy Roddick all over again.

Okay that makes no sense. MOVING ON NOW.

Wait, before that: Super cute Andy Roddick interview on David Letterman.


Wait, one last tennis-related comment: FRED PERRY IS WASTED ON ANDY MURRAY.

I SHOULD KNOW THIS BECAUSE MY BOYFRIEND WEARS FRED PERRY AND HE LOOKS SO MUCH BETTER IN THAT BRAND THAN ANDY MURRAY.

NO I'M TOTALLY NOT BIASED AT ALL.

Oh I forgot to say this and I swear it's the last tennis-related comment: ROGER'S US OPEN OUTFIT IS PERFECT. I LOVE IT WHEN HE WEARS RED. YAY.

*

So anyway, yesterday was me and Tong's two-month thingy. We spent quality time together and it was great.

Have I ever written on this space that I love him? No? Well, I do. YAY. Isn't that awesome? I think it is.

*

I have nothing else to say. Boo.

Tennis this morning was super tiring and the sun sapped whatever little energy I had out of me. Bleah. I hate the weather here.

before sunrise // before sunset


Previously:
- - Tuesday, Aug. 29, 2017
I'm moving. - Sunday, Jul. 11, 2010
In all honesty - Tuesday, Jul. 06, 2010
What I want for my birthday... - Sunday, Jul. 04, 2010
On Roger's behalf. - Friday, Jul. 02, 2010