Best in me.
written: 3:58 p.m. on Sunday, Aug. 30, 2009

Last night, a thwarted attempt at going to Rail Mall due to the lack of parking lots available at the place led to a failed attempt at going to East Coast Park via PIE leading to Changi Airport. I suppose when a car contains two individuals with zero direction sense, especially the driver, such tough excursions should not be attempted.

Nonetheless, it was a good night. We ended up at Changi Airport as there was nowhere else to go but the airport. Parked at some weird carpark, supposedly at Terminal 2, and tried to get out of the carpark via this long, empty corridor which turned out to be the office building. It was long, empty, deserted. Tong said it was the perfect setting for a horror movie, and the reflective windows on my right did not help matters much.

We eventually went back into the carpark when we reached the end of the corridor and asked a cleaning uncle how to get to the airport. The uncle was amused that we wanted to eat there. We didn't bother telling him that it wasn't the original intention; that I stupidly thought PIE (Changi Airport) would lead me to an exit that would take me to ECP; and that it wasn't the first time we went to the airport to eat anyway.

Tong decided on this Japanese pasta place whose name I forgot. We sat next to each other, as usual; a while later a boyband song that I initially thought was by 98 Degrees (I really thought I heard Nick Lachey' voice) came on.

'Cos you bring out the best in me, like no-one else can do
That's why I'm by your side, and that's why I love you

Tong said, "Hey, the next line is for you."

The lyrics are cheesy as hell; the verses aren't anything worthy of reproducing, even in an online space. Still, I'd be lying if I said I didn't wake up this morning with the chorus playing in my head (it still is). I'd also be lying if I said the lyrics didn't accurately reflect, pinpoint, and sum up how I feel about him.

Once he said my softer side is incredible, that it makes me human. I told him that he brings out the good in me, that I'm able to be this person with him, because he allows me to. It comes naturally to me now the way it hardly ever did before, if it ever did before. I don't think twice about it, and I've stopped resisting it.

It feels great. It feels liberating. And I haven't been this happy in a really, really long time.

before sunrise // before sunset


Previously:
- - Tuesday, Aug. 29, 2017
I'm moving. - Sunday, Jul. 11, 2010
In all honesty - Tuesday, Jul. 06, 2010
What I want for my birthday... - Sunday, Jul. 04, 2010
On Roger's behalf. - Friday, Jul. 02, 2010