I can't care about anything but you.
written: 11:00 p.m. on Thursday, Sept. 03, 2009

STUPID NIKE WHY DON'T YOU HAVE THIS SHIRT IN WOMEN'S SIZING. I WANT IT. BUT I REFUSE TO PAY SO MUCH FOR A SHIRT THAT I'D END UP WEARING AT HOME.

Well, on the bright side, I've already ordered this. And this. I must say I love Nike's US Open range, though solely because it's the US Open. Too bad I bought the Flushing Meadows tee from last year's collection a size too big; I don't really wear it very often.

*

Played tennis today with Thx U. 3 p.m., at NUS, under the blazing hot sun.

I almost died.

And the worst part? After about an hour, when the sun was a bit less relentless, when the wind picked up pace, I started to feel cold. Standing at the baseline waiting for Thx U to start the point was truly an an experience to behold. My clothes were damp from perspiration, obviously; that, coupled with the light breeze, combined to finish me off.

Simultaneously, I continued feeling hot from the afternoon sun. And let me say for the record that it wasn't fun feeling hot and cold at the same time. I'm amazed I managed to play until 5.15.

Anyway, apart from the shit weather and its adverse effects on me, tennis was pretty awesome. I still think my backhand's pretty great, though Thx U commented my shots are pretty flat. Hur, dunno what happened with the topspin. The bright side to the flat shots, though, is that the ball goes deep into the court, just within the baseline, often leaving Thx U quite unable to return them.

Doesn't make for good rallying, but would make for good "off the opponent NOW" shots if it ever comes to that.

Sometimes when I follow-through on the backhand all the way across my shoulders I'd hit my back with the racquet. Hahaha. Thankfully it doesn't hurt too much.

Also managed to hit a few pretty decent shots off the forehand side, but omg, all my attempts at hitting some form of a drop shot utterly failed. Did not make it over the net save once. It was sad.

I also absolutely cannot hit a ball on the backhand side with one hand off the racquet. I was forced to do so twice - Thx U pushed me way wide, and I had to run down the damn ball and take my left hand off the racquet in order to reach for it. The ball made contact with the racquet, and at the centre of the strings bed too, but the ball feebly bounced off the racquet and whimpered as it dropped into the net.

SO SAD.

What was also sad? Once, Thx U did some omg amazing slice. I got ready to hit a backhand. Then the ball bounced to my forehand. WTF! I was utterly stunned.

All in all, tennis was awesome. Yay.

*

Speaking of tennis, I didn't wake up to watch the match in the end. I caught the repeat though! Federer d. Greul 6-3, 7-5, 7-5.

It was actually quite a good match because it was vaguely competitive. Roger's backhand was quite breath-taking, especially when he whacked the ball cross-court. His follow-through is absolutely beautiful, looking as though he's spreading out his wings to fly.

If I'd watched this match live, I think I would've been rather nervous; he was down 0-3 in the third set. He keeps getting broken nowadays, but still manages to win in straight sets.

I LOVE WATCHING HIM PLAY. THERE IS REALLY NOTHING QUITE LIKE IT.

The other guy played pretty well too, but too bad he wasn't able to play at that level consistently. Definitely pushed Roger around a bit. But we all know who the ultimate winner has to be.

ROGER PLAYS LLEYTON NEXT. OMG I AM SO EXCITED. HOPE THEY GET A DAY MATCH SO THAT I DON'T HAVE TO WAKE UP TO WATCH IT!

Love Roger's night outfit too. Definitely prefer the day outfit though. I love red.

*

I'm sorry if I've been laying the saccharine a bit too thick lately, but I HAVE to say this.

It is absolutely incredible that I am lucky enough to have Tong as my boyfriend. He is unbelievably patient and understanding, and he doesn't mind that I'm clingy. He even thinks it's sweet. I got moody and teary over something quite stupid (a clue: I'm clingy) and yet he didn't once hold it against me. If I were him, I'd be plenty irritated at myself. In fact, I was very irritated at myself.

But he wasn't. And I find that absolutely incredible.

I love him very much. You have to cherish a guy who still kisses you when you're all sweaty and gross and unshowered from tennis, who still makes contact with your gross and sweaty and unshowered skin, who tells you, "You're never gross." Being single has its perks for sure, but what is the point of that when it means that I'd be without him?

I wish, though, that I could focus a bit less on negative emotions and remember the larger picture. The problem with me is that when I love someone, I really, really love someone, to the extent that he almost becomes the main focus of my life. And I don't currently know how to balance things out a bit and adopt a more normal, balanced approach to this.

I guess we'll just wait and see.

In the meantime, I love Tong Wei Chuen.

before sunrise // before sunset


Previously:
- - Tuesday, Aug. 29, 2017
I'm moving. - Sunday, Jul. 11, 2010
In all honesty - Tuesday, Jul. 06, 2010
What I want for my birthday... - Sunday, Jul. 04, 2010
On Roger's behalf. - Friday, Jul. 02, 2010