(US Open 2009) It's that guy again.
written: 3:19 p.m. on Monday, Sept. 14, 2009

It's the fourth Grand Slam final of the year, and it's the same guy on one end of the court again.

Made all four Grand Slam finals. And he's the oldest player in the top 10. This is in a year when everyone was writing him off during the early hard court season, when everyone was talking about Rafael Nadal and Andy Murray, when he didn't win a single title for 8 months.

Have I mentioned that he's the oldest player in a top 10 that's made up of new, up-and-coming players, supposedly all snapping at his heels? Not that they've done much damage in terms of Grand Slams.

HE'S MADE THE FINAL GRAND SLAM FINAL OF THE YEAR AFTER REACHING THE OTHER THREE AND WINNING TWO OF THEM. Again. What a shame he didn't win Australia; if he had won that, he would have a shot at the Grand Slam tomorrow when he plays for his sixth straight US Open.

In the other SF, Del Potro completely demolished Nadal 6-2, 6-2, 6-2. Nadal's worst Grand Slam defeat ever. I kind of wish Roger had been the one to dish it out, but the truth is, Del Pot's a bad match-up for Nadal because he's so tall and he doesn't give a shit about Nadal's extreme topspin forehand to his double-handed backhand. Roger struggles with the Nadal forehand because he's a single-hander and it's harder to control the backhand return when you've only got one hand on the racquet (everytime I take one hand off my backhand, I feel like my racquet is dictating things, not the other way round); Del Pot plays double-handed, AND he's fucking tall.

The las time Roger and Del Pot played on a hard court, Del Pot got bageled twice by GodFed. Kind of hoping something similiar occurs tomorrow so that the match can end ASAP, Roger gets his sixth straight US Open ASAP, and I can sleep in peace ASAP. That said, Del Pot's improved beyond belief since the January match and I think I can forget about sleeping tonight.

WILL STAY UP UNTIL WHATEVER TIME NECESSARY TO WATCH ROGER. NO MATTER WHAT.

I slept at 7 this morning (didn't sleep at all the whole night) watching the Fed/Djoke semi. It started past 4.30 a.m., ended at 7.15 a.m. Quite mediocre tennis from Roger (by his standards. Especially in a Grand Slam SF), though he had patches of brilliance when he played amazing shots - shots that, no matter how many times I've watched him play, will still get the same slack-jawed reaction from me.

But this shot? This shot in the following video - I don't even have the words to describe it.


A BETWEEN-THE-LEGS PASSING WINNER WHAT THE FUCK WHO DOES THIS ROGER FEDERER THAT'S WHO.

And then a forehand return-of-serve winner on match point to win it all. THANK YOU ROGER, THANKS FOR NOT GETTING INVOLVED IN ANOTHER LONG RALLY THAT YOU'D LOSE AND KEEPING IT SHORT AND SWEET SO THAT I COULD GO SLEEP.

I was absolutely dying for the last two sets. Absolutely falling asleep. Thankfully there were some tense moments that kept me awake; otherwise, I would've missed that Genius Shot of the Century as it happened.

Further thoughts:

1. Roger's returns were quite shoddy.

2. Where were his first serves?!

3. Big serves to the rescue, as usual, when he needed them.

4. Djoke had no chance at all.

5. Djoke was so funny during that prolonged exchange at the net, when he kept volleying back to Roger who kept trying to pass him. At Djoke's fifth unsuccessful volley winner, he crouched down with his back to Roger and covered his head, with the tip of his racquet between his legs. HAHA WTF.

6. Djoke played like a joker and didn't seem to take this seriously. What the hell?

7. If Roger had been on attack mode the whole match, Djoke wouldn't have won so many games.

8. ROGER FOR THE WIN.

***

On another note, I saw this on Tris' blog and had the misfortune of watching it (thanks ah friend):


What the fuck is this fuckery. "Leopard prings". Among many other things.

What the fuck is this fuckery, I repeat.

I repeat again: What. The. Fuck. Is. This. Fuckery.

It's so bad that I can't even make fun of it. It's so bad that I can't even laugh. It's so bad that all I can do is weep silent tears for the demise of this country, because she's pretty much the average Singaporean in terms of the way she speaks English.

I don't know what else to say, except that I honestly cannot comprehend how anyone can sound like that. Strange, right? I'm Singaporean, even went to Jurong Junior, and I don't exclusively hang out at Bukit Timah. But I honestly cannot understand this. And I cannot understand the fuckhead idiots who chose this person to represent the country. Sure, she literally represents the country, but the day we accept that this is it for us is the day I finally hang my head in shame.

What an idiot. That is all.

before sunrise // before sunset


Previously:
- - Tuesday, Aug. 29, 2017
I'm moving. - Sunday, Jul. 11, 2010
In all honesty - Tuesday, Jul. 06, 2010
What I want for my birthday... - Sunday, Jul. 04, 2010
On Roger's behalf. - Friday, Jul. 02, 2010