(Basel 2009) Federer d. Rochus 6-3, 6-4 (and other stories)
written: 12:34 p.m. on Tuesday, Nov. 03, 2009

Omg ROGER IS BACK!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

I was half dead on drowsiness-inducing flu medicine yesterday, was totally wishing I was asleep at about midnight, BUT I STILL STAYED UP TO WATCH ROGER'S FIRST-ROUND MATCH IN BASEL BECAUSE IT HAD BEEN EXACTLY 50 DAYS SINCE HE LAST STEPPED ONTO A TENNIS COURT (not counting the Davis Cup matches, which I didn't get to watch anyway). 50 long, arduous days without Roger Federer, during which I had to resort to watching lesser players to get my tennis fix, were PURE TORTURE.

Roger Federer trumps sleep. Roger Federer trumps "taking care of my health" (okay I'm not even THAT sick). Roger Federer is the centre around which I organise my social calendar. Roger Federer is back, and I am a happy girl once more.

All things considered, Roger played great. A few shanked shots aside, it was a walk in the park for him. I couldn't help but gasp audibly when he turned defence into offence so effortlessly, as if it were the most natural thing in the world. And it was so lightning quick - one second he was putting the ball back in play, and the next split second he fired a forehand down-the-line for a winner. What the fuck? It's been more than a year since I started watching him and he STILL doesn't cease to amaze me. That cross-court backhand winner, for instance - on replay, with the camera on Roger, he didn't even look at where he was hitting the ball. He simply waved his arm and produced a winner.

Who does things like that? This man is pure genius, and being able to watch him is a privilege in itself. I really don't enjoy tennis as much without him, and when he retires I wonder if I'd bother following tennis as much. Every player can come up with amazing shots; but for some reason, no one has wowed me as consistently and regularly as Roger has. And the way he comes up with his genius shots is just incredible. It makes you wonder if he's not from outerspace.

Looking forward to his next match with Andreas Seppi. Probably won't be as easy as Rochus but he'll go through in straight sets for sure.

Can't believe he came off a 50-day break. He barely looked rusty at all. He's soooo awesome.

(This 50-day thing - I didn't calculate it. The commentator was going on about it. I haven't lost my marbles to THAT extent, thanks.)

***

On another note, I was woken up by BLE this morning when I heard my phone vibrating endlessly on the floor. It was one of them asking for my MC (I didn't go for class yesterday). She also asked me if I'd submitted my assignment, to which I said no; could I hand it in together with the MC on Wednesday?

She was all, "You'll be handing it in late then and marks may be penalised. Do you want to hand it in today?"

Right, go all the way there today to hand in some assignment then come all the way back home? I don't think so. I said, "Uh, okay, I'll submit it tomorrow."

If BLE was located in BTC, maybe I'd muster up the energy to care enough to submit it today. But it's in fucking Chinatown. I hate going there, and I don't give a shit if you minus 1 mark out of 5; I'd have 4 left anyway. Not to mention - this assignment is the first Coveyancing one for which I actually made the effort to follow what the tutor said in class so I don't think I could get it that wrong.

So yeah whatevs.

***

I didn't really sleep though. In fact, I had a horrible night. It was so hot under my blanket but I insisted on wrapping it tightly around me, the way I always do, even though I was sweating. I drifted in and out of sleep from 3ish to 6.10 a.m. (when I checked my phone), then when I finally fell asleep, BLE called me.

How wonderful. I've been up since 11.03 a.m. Am I really supposed to be sick?

Okay, I'm not really sick, and I totally caught the bug from Wei Chuen, but yeah, I'm just saying.

I'm hungry.

before sunrise // before sunset


Previously:
- - Tuesday, Aug. 29, 2017
I'm moving. - Sunday, Jul. 11, 2010
In all honesty - Tuesday, Jul. 06, 2010
What I want for my birthday... - Sunday, Jul. 04, 2010
On Roger's behalf. - Friday, Jul. 02, 2010