(London 2009) WTF!
written: 1:43 p.m. on Friday, Nov. 27, 2009

BLOODY HELL I'M GONNA KILL THE TWO BRITISH COMMENTATORS THAT WE GET.

I was ALL NERVOUS when Roger was serving 3-4 in the deciding set against Del Pot, all because the two commentators went on and on about how Del Pot had to beat Roger at least 6-3 to qualify for the semi-final. In my mind that translated to, "If Del Pot qualifies, Roger doesn't."

They went ON AND ON about how Roger needed to win 4 games. On and on about how he needed to lose it 4-6 if he was going to lose the match. So when he got broken and Del Pot served for the match at 5-3, I was halfway into mourning mode.

Then Roger lost the match and I went back to sleep with a heavy heart, thinking that, just like last year, Roger has failed to qualify for the semi-final AGAIN; but unlike last year, he didn't have his bad back as an excuse this year.

But guess what? The commentators were wrong. Or rather, they weren't wrong per se; they were just awfully - AWFULLY - misleading. I woke up again and went to Roger's site, just to see the news story that he qualified after all.

IT TURNS OUT ALL HE NEEDED TO DO WAS WIN ONE SET AGAINST DEL POT, AND ONE GAME IN THE THIRD SET.

IT ALSO TURNS OUT THAT ROGER LOSING 3-6 TO DEL POT MEANS THAT ROGER HAS SENT MURRAY PACKING.

BASICALLY THE BRITISH COMMENTATORS WENT ON AND ON ABOUT 3 GAMES 4 GAMES WHATEVER BECAUSE THEY WERE WORRIED THAT MURRAY MIGHT NOT MAKE IT.

AT THIS POINT I MUST SAY: WHO THE FLYING FUCK GIVES A FUCK ABOUT MURRAY WHEN THE FUCKING WORLD #1 LOOKS LIKE HE'S IN DANGER OF CRASHING OUT?

ACTUALLY, LET ME CORRECT THAT: WHO THE FLYING FUCK GIVES A FUCK ABOUT MURRAY, PERIOD?

I usually like Robbie Koenig (the other guy just annoys me) but oh my god, even he isn't immune to the Murray Mania based solely on the fact that they both share the same nationality. It is SO annoying, and I bet the Brits wished that Roger were British, too.

TOO BAD HE'S SWISS. AND THAT MEANS HE'S NEUTRAL. AND THAT'S A QUALITY THAT ALL COMMENTATORS SHOULD ASPIRE TO HAVE.

*

Anyway I was very sad that Roger lost to Del Pot AGAIN. At this rate my affection for Del Pot is going to diminish FAST.

Having said that, it's hard to dislike the guy because he seems so nice and humble and down-to-earth. Unlike Murray, who's just obnoxious to the core, Del Pot seems really likeable.

But I don't like him so much when he's firing aces on break points and match points and not letting Roger have a chance to get into the rally. That crazy second serve he hit at 30-40, 3-3 in the third set was...CRAZY. I think Roger agreed.

I'm really happy Roger's through though, and he finished at the top of group. YAY!

I was DAMN SAD for poor Tabasco Sauce, who once again gave way mentally in the deciding set, when it mattered the most. Two tie-breakers against Murray; won the first, lost the second. Took himself out of it and never got back. He's damn poor thing. I wanted him to have at least one W, and a W against Murray was the best-case scenario; but it was not to be. And I don't even care for him very much.

Nadal's completely out of contention. Robin Soderling is through, and he's the last to qualify for the tournament but the first to qualify for the SF. I'd DIE LAUGHING if he ended up winning the whole thing.

I hope Davydenko makes it over Djokovic. I love Davy's spirit and the fact that he's still playing at the top of the game after so many years.

*

On another note, Civ Pro yesterday was an absolute nightmare.

That is all.

before sunrise // before sunset


Previously:
- - Tuesday, Aug. 29, 2017
I'm moving. - Sunday, Jul. 11, 2010
In all honesty - Tuesday, Jul. 06, 2010
What I want for my birthday... - Sunday, Jul. 04, 2010
On Roger's behalf. - Friday, Jul. 02, 2010