This is what I get for watching a brainless action movie.
written: 1:31 p.m. on Sunday, Apr. 04, 2010

I am rather annoyed that I can't archive my older entries. The "archive older entries" page causes my browser to crash everytime it loads fully. The worst part is, the "done" button is RIGHT AT THE END OF THE PAGE, which means the page HAS to load fully for me to archive, which means archiving is impossible now.

Oh whatever.

Anyway, in tennis news, I'd like to say that I'm very proud of Andy Roddick for coming back from a set down to beat Nadal. Granted, Nadal's very beatable these days, but from the looks of the first set (which I watched until 2 a.m.), Nadal was dominating Andy like nobody's business. Andy got sucked into these long baseline exchanges with Nadal and was being pushed around the court, and lost every rally that I watched. I was expecting a Nadal/Soderling final, so imagine my pleasant surprise when I woke up and found out that Andy actually won.

Berdych won the second SF. I watched the repeat telecast but it was so boring that I fell asleep - Sod played like crap and the scoreline was 6-2, 6-2. Don't know why Sod dies when he gets close to the finish line; I wish he wouldn't 'cause I quite like him. His runner-up speech at last year's French Open definitely endeared me to him (when he said that he and his coached were "yoking" that he wouldn't lose to the same player, i.e. Rog, 12 times in a row or something. He meant "joking" but he pronounced it "yoking". That's hilarious) and I can imagine he's scary to play against when his game is on.

Anyway, I like Tomas, but I want Andy to win. It's about time he won another Masters series title, and he IS my #2 after all. I shall be watching at 1 a.m. for a while. Yay.

In other news, Wei Chuen and I watched Clash of the Titans yesterday and it sucked. I decided against the 3D after reading all the bad reviews. I should have decided against the movie. It was a soulless CGI-packed action movie, and the Greek mythology aspect didn't make it better, and it was the reason I watched it. Medusa was sorely disappointing; I expected something...better. More seductive, more alluring, and not just some lame-ass woman laughing in an attempt to sound creepy. All the characters were cardboard cut-outs and comic relief was scarce. I think at one point I nearly fell asleep.

Oh and the Kraken died too fast. That was lame. The fucking trailer centered around the Kraken, and so did pretty much the whole movie, and it died in like 5 minutes? Seriously lame.

I also wasn't crazy about the liberties they took with the original stories. Perseus was supposed to rescue and marry Andromeda, not go off with Io (whom Zeus resurrected in one of the lamest points of the movie); and if they'd appointed Andromeda his love interest, the movie might have been more interesting. And it was also lame that only Zeus and Hades were actual characters; the rest of the Olympians just stood around and did nothing. Apparently someone was credited for playing Athena, but I didn't even know Athena was even there.

In fact, the funniest part of the movie was when it ended and we were going down the escalators and overheard two idiots behind us talking. I forgot what the first guy said; something along the lines of Medusa having her head chopped off. Then his companion brilliantly added, "Is it that...Melissa?"

We almost died laughing. Or died of embarrassment for them. Or both. I personally cannot fathom how anyone could not know of Medusa, and confuse her with Melissa, but that's just me.

I would think that the Medusa myth were misogynistic if it weren't for the fact that she was turned into a monster by Athena. But it's precisely because of the fact that Athena turned her after she was raped by Poseidon, and thus out of jealously, that I think the myth quite rightly encapsulates how women can be petty and bitchy and vengeful. Hell hath no fury like a woman scorned, pretty much. If the goddess of wisdom herself can be capable of this, why not the rest of us?

Anyway, I am very hungry. It's 2 p.m. and I'm waiting for my mom to come home with lunch. Boo.

before sunrise // before sunset


Previously:
- - Tuesday, Aug. 29, 2017
I'm moving. - Sunday, Jul. 11, 2010
In all honesty - Tuesday, Jul. 06, 2010
What I want for my birthday... - Sunday, Jul. 04, 2010
On Roger's behalf. - Friday, Jul. 02, 2010