Madrid Masters 2010: Roger's first round match
written: 11:24 p.m. on Tuesday, May. 11, 2010

AH MY GAD! ROGER LOOKS LIKE HIS OLD SELF AGAIN!

I HAVE HIGH HOPES FOR THIS TOURNAMENT! I HOPE HE DEFENDS HIS TITLE!

JUST WON FIRST SET AGAINST BECKER 6-2!

Okay he also won the first set 6-2 against Gulbis in Rome and we all know how THAT turned out.

Yay second set! Hope he wins soon! I wanna sleep!

I LOVE ROGER!

*

ETA 12.22 a.m.:

OMG I WAS SO RELIEVED WHEN HE WON. I was afraid the netted forehand on Becker's bad drop shot when Roger had match point would disturb him mentally and cause him to go on one of his weird meltdowns, but he didn't. Was worried when he was down 1-3 in the tie-break but quickly leveled it to 3-3, at which point I went to empty my bladder; when I came back he was a mini-break up and a few minutes later, he won.

Nowadays, any Roger victory is a victory to savour, no matter the opponent. A year ago - actually, just 4 months ago - I would've looked at Benjamin Becker and sat back and relaxed and enjoyed the match; but Roger is strange now. He loses weird matches that he should win. I've learnt to never underestimate his opponent...or rather, I've learnt to never underestimate the extent to which he can screw up.

He looked almost like his former self today, his real self. He served really well, returned well, played well at the net (omg his drop shots!111!1!!!11!!!), pounced on opportunities to be aggressive when they presented himself, and of course, as always, had shitty break point conversion. But he's always had shitty break point conversion so that's nothing new.

I love it when he rips a backhand down the line. He dismisses the ball with a touch of disdain, almost. It's so nice to look at. His tennis is so gorgeous. His footwork is exquisite.

I really hope he defends his title! He can't let Nadal break the all-time Masters Series title list! He needs to defend this and equal the Agassi record that Nadal now holds!!!

OK I'm typing shit. I'm really sleepy. Shall write more um, some other time.

before sunrise // before sunset


Previously:
- - Tuesday, Aug. 29, 2017
I'm moving. - Sunday, Jul. 11, 2010
In all honesty - Tuesday, Jul. 06, 2010
What I want for my birthday... - Sunday, Jul. 04, 2010
On Roger's behalf. - Friday, Jul. 02, 2010