2003 in review: a survey
written: 11:04 p.m. on Tuesday, Dec. 30, 2003

Got this from Ko Mui. (her diary is locked, unfortunately.)

1. What did you do in 2003 that you'd never done before?

Joined voluntary camps, went to school with boys, took Economics, topped the level in one subject or more (I think just one lah), went through a minimum of three crushes, and I can't recall offhand right now, if there are more.

2. Did you keep your new years' resolutions, and will you make more for next year?

I make resolutions for the fun of it, which means I never intend to keep any anyway so it comes as no surprise to me at all that none are kept. I don't have the time (literally) to make any this year though, and I can't write the traditional letter to myself tomorrow at 11.55 p.m. as I'd be stuck in some crappy countdown, so this year is a waste. Really. Or something. I'm tired, I can't think, hence the bad English.

3. Did anyone close to you give birth?

No.

4. Did anyone close to you die?

No.

5. What countries did you visit?

Malaysia, as per usual.

6. What would you like to have in 2004 that you lacked in 2003?

Nerdiness, the will to sit down and really study, and above all else, GOOD GRADES. I need my four As or else life isn't worth living. Oh, and I need tuition for Maths too.

7. What date from 2003 will remain etched upon your memory, and why?

None in particular because... because.

8. What was your biggest achievement of the year?

I don't know. Topping the level for GP? But I didn't really work for that so I don't think it can be counted as an 'achievement'. I don't know.

9. What was your biggest failure?

Setting out to do well in a lousy college, but failing miserably in that.<--- Oh my god. I cannot agree more! And missing the minimum required SAT score by 20 points after laughing at some senior who was dealt the same unfortunate card. I guess karma is at work here. Fuck, must retake liao. Kena sai man. (Translation: Fuck, I have to retake the SAT. Shit man.)

10. Did you suffer illness or injury?

Does terminal laziness count?

11. What was the best thing you bought?

My Chinese New Year clothes! <3

12. Whose behaviour merited celebration?

Melissa, for being my crazy super twin. My SN mates, for reminding me of the reason behind our friendship. I miss them more than I thought I would. Sigh.

13. Whose behaviour made you appalled and depressed?

Hmm. Quite a few people. Or maybe it was just myself all along.

14. Where did most of your money go?

Useless stuff, like comics, clothes, school notes.

15. What did you get really, really, really excited about?

Why, the Jay Chou concert, of course! It was great! He SO has to come back to Singapore, and when he does, I'm going to transform into a total teenybopper and stalk him. He apparently has very very flawless skin and I have to see that upclose! And I want to shake his hand; heard that his hand is soft. Hahahahahahahahaha.

16. What song will always remind you of 2003?

I guess the school's mass dance songs.

17. Compared to this time last year, are you happier or sadder?

No difference. More tired, definitely.

ii. thinner or fatter? Same leh. Excuse my Singlish.

iii. richer or poorer? Poorer.

18. What do you wish you'd done more of?

Read more books, studied harder, did more to improve my writing and my vocabulary.

19. What do you wish you'd done less of?

Slacking and procrastinating.

20. How will you be spending Christmas?

I already did. I did nothing.

22. Did you fall in love in 2003?

I never fall in love.

23. How many one night stands?

None.

24. What was your favourite TV programme? Have to agree with Ko Mui... Holland V. Even though I started watching it halfway through. But it was the first local Chinese drama serial that I've watched since primary school and it was entertaining enough to sustain my interest. And Xiaoxin is soooo cute!

25. Do you hate anyone now that you didn't hate this time last year?

Yes, of course, new school and all.

26. What was the best book you read?

1984 was great, though the ending was such a let down, as I was hoping for changes. Oh well. Wait, then again, I liked The Handmaid's Tale a lot better, but the ending was crappy as well, in the sense that I wanted something good to happen to the characters that I liked but because the author adhered to reality, the ending was, well, the way that it was. Yeah.

27. What was your greatest musical discovery?

Eh. Dunno.

28. What did you want and get?

Jay Chou's The One concert DVD, a handphone but I don't want it anymore, and a lot of other tiny things here and there that I can't remember right now. Oh yeah, and a pair of Asics shoes. Wahoo.

29. What did you want and not get?

Jielun's handphone, either the Panasonic GD something or the more recent one, forgot the model names. And more free time. And better writing skills. And an A in Literature.

30. What was your favourite film of this year?

The Return of the King, of course. Nothing can beat that, ever.

31. What did you do on your birthday, and how old were you?

I went to school and I cut P.E. I was 17.

32. What one thing would have made your year immeasurably more satisfying?

A more significant social life.

33. How would you describe your personal fashion concept in 2003?

Crazily experimental. Bought a lot of strange things. That is, strange by my standards.

34. What kept you sane?

Writing.

35. Which celebrity/public figure did you fancy the most?

Obviously, Jay Chou.

36. What political issue stirred you the most?

The Iraq war.

37. Who did you miss?

Yunnie, The Athlete, Pearl.

38. Who was the best new person you met?

Melissa. Duh. And Ben, too.

39. Tell us a valuable life lesson you learned in 2003.

Just don't give a fuck and you'll be fine.

40. Quote a song lyric that sums up your year.

�������ǿ��� �ֺ�ʱ�����С? -- ���� �ܽ���

(A rough and bad translation of the above: When did the tree that I used to climb become so small? From "Split" (Track 6 on third LP, Eight Dimensions) by Jay Chou.)

this entry requires chinese simplified encoding

before sunrise // before sunset


Previously:
- - Tuesday, Aug. 29, 2017
I'm moving. - Sunday, Jul. 11, 2010
In all honesty - Tuesday, Jul. 06, 2010
What I want for my birthday... - Sunday, Jul. 04, 2010
On Roger's behalf. - Friday, Jul. 02, 2010