poem: huang fu se (chinese)
written: 7:13 p.m. on Monday, Sept. 20, 2004

�Ʒ�ɫ

һ. ��֪

�㽶�İ�ɫ����
�ҿ�����
��˵�Ļ�
�����ö�
�ұ�˵����

�Ʒ�ɫ���һ��
ĬĬ�ؽ���
���Ķ����IJ�м
���޷�˵�� �޷�����
��û���ʵ����ֻ�
�����������
��Į�� ������
��̭

(������: I am proud to be Chinese)

��. �Ļ�

�Ʒ�ɫ

�ҵ�����
�ֺ�ʱ��
��խС?

���� ����
Ϧ�����µĹ���
����Ĵ�˵
ңԶ��ͯ��
�ѳ���
���ó��׵Ĺ���

��� ������
������ ��ʱ�ع��
�ϼ�

�Ʒ�ɫ
�кε�λ?

������
�Լ���˭

��. ��ʧ

��ĸ��˵: ����ķ�ɫ
�ǻƵġ���

��ʲô��˵����
ֻ������Լ�������

���Ŀ�����˵��
����ǰ����֪�����Ե�
�����ھ������ǻ�
�ҷ·𱻶���ʧȥ����������Ц

��Ҫ���� ��Ҫ���� ��ҪΪ�Լ�����Ϊ�绤
��һ�ſ��� ȴ����
��ʲô��˵����

���ӱ�Ц�ߵ���

������ص� ���Ե� ì��
���� ����
��ɫ������
��ʼ����������
��
��·����

�����
��ʧ

��. �܂�

��������
���ķ�ɫ�й���
�ҳ�˯��
������ ���Ĵ���
����� ���Ľ���

���ڳ����ϴ����ȭ
��ζ�� �ܶ���
������ ���ڻص���
����ʧȥ��
����

��. ����

��Щ�������޷��ı��
�Լ�������
���޷��ӱܵ�

�� ���ǰ�

����ɫ��ɫ��
ʼ�ջ���
��dzdz��

����

(������: ��Ϊ��Ϊ���˶��е�����)

***

This entry, obviously, requires Chinese simplified encoding. I don't know which one it is so try until you get the right one.

For some reason completely eludes me, this poem won the first prize in this intra-school Chinese poetry competition thingy held a few months back. I personally don't think it's that great, and only like stanzas 2 and 4.

I'm not going to translate this because the meaning would inadvertently be lost in translation and I can't translate with dignity for nuts, so... yeah, just... you know. If you really have to know, the title is roughly translated as 'yellow skin' and it's, in short, about my relationship with the Chinese culture and language.

So. Yeah.

before sunrise // before sunset


Previously:
- - Tuesday, Aug. 29, 2017
I'm moving. - Sunday, Jul. 11, 2010
In all honesty - Tuesday, Jul. 06, 2010
What I want for my birthday... - Sunday, Jul. 04, 2010
On Roger's behalf. - Friday, Jul. 02, 2010