the james dean story
written: 5:07 p.m. on Thursday, Dec. 05, 2002 - Mom's birthday

I watched that James Dean DVD I borrowed from the Esplanade library. A few thoughts:

A. The narration of Jimmy's character reminded me of my friend Claire.

B. Jimmy was a genius.

C. The narrator/script-writer/whoever hit the nail right on the head when he said that Jimmy had the ability to reach out into a dark theatre and make people realise that they are not alone in this world. He made me feel that way when I watched "Rebel Without A Cause".

D. Jimmy was profound. "Only the gentle are ever really strong."

E. There is no other god, but James Dean himself, for he himself is symbolic of that group of people called "the minority", and hence if I ever feel like it, I'd start a religion called Deanism, and I'd be the Deanism Pope.

F. The "East of Eden" outtakes blew my mind. Jimmy/Cal was hidden in the shadows but you didn't have to see his face to hear the anguish that was clear in his voice, like a little boy longing for parental love (which Cal was longing for but he wasn't a little boy).

He wanted people, but he kept pushing them away. He was afraid of being lonely, but he retreated into his own solitude. He wanted fame and success, but once he had the slightest taste of them, he destroyed them. He didn't understand his actions and he pushed people away before they could hurt him. Most people have only one layer of protective shield, but Jimmy had a wall around his mirror that protected his core. He observed people and used his observations in his acting. He seeked solace in art. He lived for self-expression. He sculpted, he painted, he drew, he wrote, he played music, he acted. He was suspicious of people and their intentions. He wanted to fit in, but, much like Jim Stark, he was the perpetual outsider. He was born an ordinary kid but he died a legend. He had an incredible lust for life. He tried new things, he experimented, he raced cars to feel alive, he flirted with death. But throughout it all, he was empty.

And just like me, he ran away from himself.

before sunrise // before sunset


Previously:
- - Tuesday, Aug. 29, 2017
I'm moving. - Sunday, Jul. 11, 2010
In all honesty - Tuesday, Jul. 06, 2010
What I want for my birthday... - Sunday, Jul. 04, 2010
On Roger's behalf. - Friday, Jul. 02, 2010