poem: i don't want to
written: 6:55 p.m. on Tuesday, Sept. 17, 2002

warning: nonsensical ramblings ahead

I don't go there, because I don't want to*.
You're asking me to bathe in lava,
and topple down the volcano that has
just erupted,
just like this country.
You're all graceful as cheetahs,
the way you move with beauty,
like dandelions in the breeze,
so you think you can crowd me.
I'm keeping it quiet,
but then, convection currents here
are strong, and forceful...
they mirror themselves
in your emerald eyes ---
what a shocking green pigment.
but it's not beautiful
it's spiteful
it's dreamy, but only when
the sky is dark.

I'm not saying a word,
because I don't want to. at all.

September 15, 2002

*Taken from Matchbox 20's "Back To Good"

before sunrise // before sunset


Previously:
- - Tuesday, Aug. 29, 2017
I'm moving. - Sunday, Jul. 11, 2010
In all honesty - Tuesday, Jul. 06, 2010
What I want for my birthday... - Sunday, Jul. 04, 2010
On Roger's behalf. - Friday, Jul. 02, 2010