poem: eyes wide shut
written: 10:43 p.m. on Saturday, Jan. 19, 2002

My eyes are closed, but I'm not asleep
The lights are off; I can't see
in the blinding darkness
but it liberates me from ordinariness.

I venture into Fantasia
where I become Queen.
And it's really amazing,
how the delicate intricacies of the dark
could spark such brilliant

images from an otherwise
dull existence. I can feel
my way around the dimness of this world.
I feed of its air and survive on its
illusions;
and he comes in ultimate beauty

and perfection. he takes my breath away.
together we live as one,
under the artificial dome of stars
that shine upon us,
bathing us in incredible light.

this I can't get on Planet Earth.

I don't want to wake up just yet
for the day is far too bright.

__________________________________________________

This is not one of my best work...not even close.

before sunrise // before sunset


Previously:
- - Tuesday, Aug. 29, 2017
I'm moving. - Sunday, Jul. 11, 2010
In all honesty - Tuesday, Jul. 06, 2010
What I want for my birthday... - Sunday, Jul. 04, 2010
On Roger's behalf. - Friday, Jul. 02, 2010