grading systerm
written: 5:50 p.m. on Sunday, Aug. 18, 2002

An explanation of the grading system that Singapore uses and anything school-related that I rant about.

A1 - 75% and over.

A2 - 70% to 74%

B3 - 65% to 69%

B4 - 60% to 64%

C5 - 55% to 59%

C6 - 50% to 54%

D7 - 46% to 49% (?)

E8 - 40% to 45% (?)

F9 - 39% and below

Aggregate: Lower the better. If I miraculously score 6 A1s, my aggregate is 6 points = very good, so good in fact the world should worship me.

L1R5: One language, 5 other subjects. For me, English is compulsory, and I can choose my 5 other subjects from Chinese, Physics, A Maths, E Maths, Combined Humanities (Social Studies a.k.a. government's shameless propaganda + Elective Geography), Science (Chemistry + Biology), or English Literature. From 7 choose 5, plus English, you get 6 subjects.

Example: Ideally, my O Level result looks something like this:

English - A1

Chinese - A1 (but we all know I did not get that)

English Lit - A1

E Maths - B3

A Maths - B3

Physics - B3

L1R5 = 1+1+1+3+3+3 = 12.

An aggregate of 12 would allow me to enter a junior college. One needs an aggregate of below 20 to enter junior college (JC).

In JC, one takes the A Level, and proceeds to the university after two years. (Assuming one graduates.)

Other paths include the polytechnic, where one gets a diploma upon graduation, or the Institute of Technical Education (ITE), but I don't know what one achieves when one graduates because it's not an option for me.

Any other questions? Sign my guestbook.

**

Primary School Leaving Examination
English - A* (91% and over)
Chinese - A
Mathematics - A
Science - A
Higher Chinese - Merit
Overall: 248 (out of 300)

GCE 'O' Levels
English - A2
Literature - A1
Chinese - A2
Combined Humanities (Social Studies + Geography Elective) - A2
Mathematics - B3
Additional Mathematics - B3
Physics - B3
Science (Chemistry + Biology) - D7
Co-cirricular Activities: C5 (not counted in aggregate)
Aggregate: 13

before sunrise // before sunset


Previously:
- - Tuesday, Aug. 29, 2017
I'm moving. - Sunday, Jul. 11, 2010
In all honesty - Tuesday, Jul. 06, 2010
What I want for my birthday... - Sunday, Jul. 04, 2010
On Roger's behalf. - Friday, Jul. 02, 2010