boring football talk
written: 2:13 p.m. on Friday, Sept. 20, 2002

New Real Madrid/football guy to go crazy over: Jose Maria Gutierrez.

Reason: His last name is Gutierrez! This is significant because Joaquin's character in The Yards is Willie Gutierrez. I can hear Joaquin saying, "This is Willie Gutierrez" in my head from the movie, and man, that name really has a nice ring to it.

Also, because Jose Gutierrez sounds nice as hell, although his jersey says "Guti H" and I never knew his full name is Gutierrez.

More importantly, because he scores on the field and everything. Like, he scored two against AS Roma, scored with a nice header against...*thinks*...well, I forget, but it was some UEFA thing which Real Madrid won, of course. I think it was the Super Cup, against the Feye-something team, the one with the Japanese player. Yeah well.

Iker and Guti (as people call him) showing their Real Madrid cards:

His hair is short now, don't worry.

Isn't Iker gorgeous? I think he's so completely Spanish and gorgeous. And he has that hot-blooded Spanish trait going on too. Like, on the field, whenever the other team has a corner, the camera would have a nice close-up on him and he'd be yelling some inaudible things to his teammates or whoever and he always looks so pissed. And he does this really cute thing whenever he catches an attempt from the opponent, or whenever his teammate (team-mate?) passes the ball back to him. He'd hold the football under one arm and hold up his other hand, and nod, like, "It's okay, I've got it."

before sunrise // before sunset


Previously:
- - Tuesday, Aug. 29, 2017
I'm moving. - Sunday, Jul. 11, 2010
In all honesty - Tuesday, Jul. 06, 2010
What I want for my birthday... - Sunday, Jul. 04, 2010
On Roger's behalf. - Friday, Jul. 02, 2010