poem: in iraq
written: 4:51 p.m. on Tuesday, Apr. 08, 2003

In Iraq

drunk on champagne,
your tears coarse through my heart in
crimson streams of blood.
gentle, you say, don't let the sky turn black,
for then there would be no hope left.
but what cause matters now
that the champagne bottle is broken into
tiny little bits?

your sanity?
your chastity?

you're a sad and lonely virgin
in this harsh and foggy landscape.
the weapon in your hand -
so heavy, it makes your muscles weep.
you've seen
so much
that you shed tears of blood
and let them pump through my
heart,

so that I have a feel of
what you're going through.

you're no longer drunk,
because this is your reality.

and maybe you'll live to see
another champagne bottle
laid on the table

just for you.

April 5, 2003. 12.39 a.m.

**

This would be the first and only comment I'd make on the war in Iraq. Needless to say, I'm against it. That's all.

before sunrise // before sunset


Previously:
- - Tuesday, Aug. 29, 2017
I'm moving. - Sunday, Jul. 11, 2010
In all honesty - Tuesday, Jul. 06, 2010
What I want for my birthday... - Sunday, Jul. 04, 2010
On Roger's behalf. - Friday, Jul. 02, 2010