a sneak peak at yelen's first-ever mary sue, slam dunk fanfiction!
written: 5:39 p.m. on Monday, Nov. 25, 2002

Why am I doing this? Because I can. And because I know everyone is dying to read my Mitsui/Slam Dunk fanfiction. I mean, it's such an important event because this genius never writes fanfiction, let alone anime fanfiction, let alone basketball fanfiction, let alone fanfiction for a series that I haven't even finished reading/watching. Nyahahahahahaha! Oh shit, I'm starting to laugh like Sakuragi and that is not a good thing because his laugh makes him sound like an escaped asylum prisoner. But yes, this is just an extract. As in this is my favourite part thus far. You don't have to know what happened before because it's not important. What's important, is that Mitsui is a basketball genius. Okay? Good.

--------------------

Chapter unnumbered, untitled

Three o'clock, and I stood outside the gym, waiting for Mitsui to materialise. I was treated to more weird glances as a few students whom I assumed were on the team filed into the gym, one by one.

Then I saw Rukawa. He was walking towards me, his eyes partially closed, listening to some jarring music blasting from his Discman.

"Hey," I said as he approached. "Rukawa, is it?"

He blinked as my words registered in his brains. He glanced at me, his face totally void of emotions. He grunted something inaudible and shuffled past me.

"Stupid zombie," I muttered. "Who cares if you're good-looking?"

Somebody chuckled behind me, and this time, I was sure that it was a laugh.

"You're late. It's 3.05."

Mitsui didn't answer. Instead, he took my elbow and steered me into the gym.

"Take off your shoes," he directed softly. "The floor was waxed a few days ago."

I looked at him questioningly*, but he wasn't paying attention. His gaze was fixed on the court. The basketball court. He had a faraway look in his eyes. For a moment, I thought he'd forgotten about me.

"I have to show you something." He was with me again. His head was slightly tilted as he turned his attention back to me.

That was when I noticed the scar. It was a simple line of abotu five centimetres long. The red was fading, leaving the white. It was almost non-descript, but there was something about the way the sunlight was shining on it, illuminating it, saving it from darkness.

"Allison, what is it?"

I realised I was staring. I smiled a little and shook my head. "Nothing," I replied. Remembering what he asked me to do, I took off my shoes.

"You have something to show me?"

"Yeah. Wait here. You'll see."

I waited and watched as Mitsui approached one of the members of the basketball team and received a ball from him. He moved slowly, dribbling the ball as he walked towards the three-point line, as if he was trying to get a feel of the ball.

Quite honestly, I was stunned by his performance before it had even begun. He was the smoothest dribbler I'd ever seen, surpassing even the most famous NBA names. He handled the ball like it were a part of him, pressing down on it nonchalantly and effortlessly, as if it were second-nature to breathing.

Still, I was confused. Perhaps I should've guessed, but I was too busy marvelling over Mitsui's effortless dribbling to make that crucial connection. Before I could attempt to get my head around it, Mitsui was taking aim. And not only that...he was taking aim from the three-point line.

His brows furrowed as he concentrated. He held the ball high in front of him and took a tiny step back. Then, looking like helium personified, he pushed his feet against the ground and elevated himself into the air. His graceful movement transcended even time; all were still as Mitsui Hisashi flicked the ball from him and towards the goal.

Swoosh. My mind flashed back to that day at the basketball court. It was an angry, random shot, but this precise one produced the same result.

Nothing but net.

Mitsui landed back on Earth and was greeted by enthusiastic cheering from whoever had seen him, which was almost everyone in the gym.

"Way to go, Mitsui-san!"

"Awesome shot!"

"That was beautiful!"

Mitsui turned to look at me. His gaze was questioning, perhaps even slightly unsure.

"That's your answer," he said softly.

I drew in a deep breath as I reached my epiphany. I finally understood.

"You're brilliant," I replied, for there was nothing else to say.

For a while, his expression did not change. But as sunlight dripped onto his body, his features relaxed, and I was treated to, for the very first time, Mitsui Hisashi's beautiful, unguarded smile.

--------------------

*Is 'questioningly' a word?

It got pretty shit four paragraphs after that. Still trying to figure out the ending. But what the hell.

before sunrise // before sunset


Previously:
- - Tuesday, Aug. 29, 2017
I'm moving. - Sunday, Jul. 11, 2010
In all honesty - Tuesday, Jul. 06, 2010
What I want for my birthday... - Sunday, Jul. 04, 2010
On Roger's behalf. - Friday, Jul. 02, 2010